Yummy Peanut Butter Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2007
I usually try recipes to the 'T' the first time, which I believe is necessary to properly write a review, then tweak it to what I think it needs or doesn't. Since I didn't have almond extract the first time, that's the only thing I left out. The second time, I used the almond extract and found it didn't complement the peanut butter taste. I recommend leaving it out & using vanilla extract. I also recommend using a cookie scoop to insure uniformity in appearance and cooking time; I use a reusable Silpat -- cookies are perfectly browned & slide off, without need for greasing or parchment. For a more defined criss-cross, use a pastry blender instead of a fork. If you don't have margarine, use unsalted butter instead; salted or a blend of both is OK also, but unsalted is just a bit healthier (as if cookies are healthy...haha). All in all, this is a great recipe, it's the one I use all the time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cat

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 29, 2006
What a great recipe for a light, crispy yet chewy cookie. I didn't have the almond extract, so like others, just used 1 1/2 tsp of vanilla instead. I highly recommend refridgerating the dough before using, it made it so much easier since mine was soft. I added chocolate chips to 1/4 of the dough, and boy, they were good. Everyone at work keeps coming back for more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
38 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2006
These are the best PB cookies I've had, and I've had some good ones. I usually use shortening and less soda in my PB cookies, and I've never used almond flavoring. So although I thought I had already found my favorite recipe for peanut butter cookies on AR, this one interested me. The almond extract does something subtle, not strong, to the flavor--enhances it & mellows it out at the same time. They are buttery, slightly crisp, and chewy. Try it as written, you won't be sorry. Excellent recipe, and thanks for sharing, Stephanie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GRANNYLOOHOO

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Magnolia, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Excellent recipe! I used natural peanut butter since that's what I had at home, and added an extra half teaspoon each of the vanilla and almond extracts to compensate for the reduced sweetness. Also I only had a 1/2 cup of brown sugar at home so I upped the white sugar to a cup and a half instead of a cup. The one warning I would offer is if you are making these cookies for company, pay attention to the directions about how far apart to spread the cookies and make sure you shape them into a ball, otherwise they will run into each other and you won't see the criss cross design as well. My later batches were much more attractive than the first one when I put the balls too close together and didn't fully shape the balls of dough. If they are just for you and your family, though, it doesn't really matter, you will love these cookies no matter what they look like!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by India74

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 15, 2006
OMG, these are the best peanut butter cookies I have ever had. I just made a batch last week off the Crisco package and they were so so...I didn't have any more shortening and found this recipe. These are soooo Good. My whole family loves them including me who usually dislikes peanut butter. Definitely a keeper. Followed recipe as is only omitted the almond extract since I did not have any and put in 1-1/2 tsp of vanilla. Great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naedwards

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Palm Springs, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2009
I just thought I had some great peanut butter cookies until I made these. By far the best I've ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Phil Stewart

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Nashville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2004
These peanut butter cookies are the best! I baked them at 350 degrees for 12 minutes and instead of greasing the pans I used parchment paper. I used a floured fork to criss cross the tops instead of a wet sugared one and left out the almond extract because I didn't have any. Also I used 1 tsp each of baking soda and baking powder instead of the 1 1/2 tsp baking soda. Usually I add some semi-sweet chocolate chips to half of the dough because some of us prefer them that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
I made these last night and had to come back today to write a review. They are absolutely irresistable...I can't stop eating them. Made the recipe exactly as stated except one change: Used Butter instead of margarine (I never use margarine. yuck.) I consider myself a bit of a cookie connoisseur and these taste fabulous. Perfect texture with crispy edges/soft, chewy centers. Oops I did make one more change...I added mini peanut better melts chips (kindof like tiny reese cups) to the batter. Perfectly done in my convection oven in 7-8 min. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Very easy. Classic peanut butter cookie, as far as I am concerned. I used Bestlife buttery baking sticks instead of margarine. Had never tried them before. Seemed to work just fine. I looked at all the jars of peanut butter on the store shelf and the only one I could find without added sugar was Smucker's Natural Peanut Butter. I did not want sugar in the peanut butter...I can add it myself! Thought perhaps I'd get a better peanut taste. They're good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Indiana Peggy

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
Yummy, indeed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Fond Du Lac, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 78) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Three Ingredient Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make super-easy, 5-star peanut butter cookies.

Classic Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make top-rated peanut butter cookies.

Flourless Peanut Butter Cookies

See how to make yummy gluten-free peanut butter cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States