Yummy Lemon Coconut Loaf Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 6, 2014
This is so good. My Mom who is not so easy to please when it comes to food said "This is the best cake I ever made" and I do bake quite a bit. Did not change a thing. From one Pennsylvania cook to another, thanks for the great recipe Christina.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jim Thorpe, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Northampton, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Melanie
Reviewed: May 29, 2014
GLUTEN FREE VERSION: I made this GF. I followed the ingredients substituting only GF all purpose flour (using white rice, potato starch and tapioca starch with 1/2 tsp xanthan gum). I had to use almost three times the lemon juice for the glaze though. I did change the directions to adapt to GF flours. I allowed the flours and liquids to sit for 10 minutes (stirring occasionally) then added the baking powder, mixed well and then put it in the oven. This soaking time helps the rice flours and starches to soften a bit to lend to a smoother texture. In fact it wasn't grainy at all. As you can see in the photo I made it in a 9" round cake pan so it baked for only 30 minutes. I didn't have the right size loaf pan. It worked wonderfully. Great taste of the lemon with the coconut. My daughter, who isn't gluten intolerant, loved it so much ate almost all of it asking me to make it again "exactly like this don't change a thing!". There's a great rating for you! Keep in the fridge for a longer lasting storage. Thanks for sharing this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melanie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: May 28, 2014
This was good but I think I may have over mixed it because the way that it peaked after baking so maybe it will work out better next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: London, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 24, 2014
Loved this recipe! Had some extra coconut and wanted to bake something and this 'took the cake.' Will put this into my 'special recipes' folder for future use.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2014
Very yummy! Used almond milk instead since that's what I had and it turned out really well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
Wonderful recipe! Lemon and coconut are a great combo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
I will be making this again...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2014
Don't miss this recipe. If you enjoy the flavor of lemon and coconut, you will love this. I followed the recipe closely but used skim milk instead of whole milk. I usually do not buy whole milk anymore. The other thing I did was a bit of a mistake. I buttered my baking dish instead of using baking spray. The bottom of my loaf browned a little more than I would like. This is a wonderful recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Elgin, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2014
I did 1/4 c applesauce, 1/4 c butter and added a little rum extract. Other than that, I made as written. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2014
Excellent recipe. Very moist and Just the right amount of tartness. I followed the recipe to a T. However, I think next time I will substitute lime for the lemon. Coconut &lime have an affinity for one another.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellington, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 28) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Grandma’s Lemon Meringue Pie

See grandma’s sweet-and-simple recipe for tart and tangy lemon meringue pie!

Baked Lemon Chicken with Mushroom Sauce

See how to make lemony chicken served with a savory mushroom sauce.

Lemon Cupcakes

See how to make light, lemony cupcakes from scratch.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States