Yummy Lemon Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 30, 2002
Mild lemon flavor. Wonderful companion to cup of hot coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anastasia

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Littleton, Colorado, USA
Living In: Moscow, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2003
A delightful bread with just the right amount of lemon flavor - not too tart and not too sweet. It was moist, yet firm, and made perfect slices when cut. Before grating the lemon peel, I squeezed the lemon and strained and reserved the juice for use in the glaze. The bread was golden brown and done in the center at 45 min., so be careful with the baking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2006
Given that I love lemon, I really wanted to like this bread. It ended up tasting fine--not five-star delicious, but good. However, it really came out as more of a cake. It barely rose at all in the oven, and the loaf really only ended up about two inches thick. I followed the recipe exactly, except for omitting the nuts and sweetening the lemon juice more at the last step. Maybe next time I'll make a double batch and make it a 9x13 cake. But as a loaf of bread, this just doesn't cut it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2006
This was great served as a dessert. It's a dense bread, so it's like a cake, but it's not too sweet. Perfect with tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 12, 2008
Like other reviews said, it's more of a cake than a bread. I had added 1/2 tsp. of salt and mixed the baking powder with the flour instead of the liquid ingredients. Next time, I will use the zest and juice of two lemons instead of just one since we like a really strong lemon flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHISCH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 4, 2005
I am usually very good at following recipes, but I think I must have done something wrong. The center wouldn't cook even after 50 minutes, then my whole family agreed that it tasted awful. I substituted canola oil (slightly less) for the butter, and orange juice for the milk, because my whole family is lactose intolerant. These substitutions are usually fine, and don't result in disaster!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2010
Had extra lemons that I needed to use and found this recipe. Served it to a group of friends and they were soon fighting over the last piece. The glaze really makes the overall product. The bread does rise in the center so make sure to let the bread cool down sufficiently before applying glaze or else it will all run to edges. I was in a rush so didn't have time to do this but it tasted great fresh out of the oven!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2004
I made 10 muffins out of this recipe. The batter turned out *really* liquidy, but the muffins rose pretty well. I added poppy seeds on top. Lemony and sugary--not too bad!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MACKALLEN
Home Town: Superior, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Auburn, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
Very good! Easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2006
This bread is wonderful! I've never baked bread from scratch before so I was nervous. But this turned out moist , tangy, and flavorful...and it was easy to make. My boyfriend can't stop raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 19) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Winningest Football Party Ever
Winningest Football Party Ever

Big, bold food is always the best play. Get the top recipes now.

 Super Bowl Appetizers
Super Bowl Appetizers

How much jalapeno and bacon will it take to fuel YOUR fans?

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Banana Bread V

See how to make a moist, old-fashioned banana bread.

Raspberry Lemon Muffins

A dozen muffins bursting with flavors of fresh raspberries and tangy lemon.

Poppy Seed Bread with Glaze

See how to make a sweet poppy-seed bread with almond and orange flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States