Yummy Lasagna Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2005
Good lasagna Sabra! The pepperoni added a nice spice. I also chopped up fresh parsley and roasted red peppers to add to the ricotta along with mozarella. By the way, just a hint; no need to boil your noodles. Just soak them in a roasting pan filled with warm water for about thirty minutes. The noodles won't tear like they do when either trying to fish them out of the pot or draining them in a colander. This method leaves them just the right consistancy to start building your lasagna. Thanks so much!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
175 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LINDA MCLEAN

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Lexington, Kentucky, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2005
This lasagna tasted GREAT! The reason for the three star rating was the ingredient amount and yield amount. In a 9x13 pan, you have about 12 servings, not 6. I used a full 28oz jar of sauce, and it wasn't enough. Make sure you get more than the recipe calls for and that it's not chunky, but smooth. I also used about double the amount of cheese that they called for. This was based on the given directions. With less layers, the stated ingredient amounts might work.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
122 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 6, 2007
Outstanding...A couple of things though.Definitly use twice the stated amounts of sauce.I also used half saugese and half ground beef and let it simmer and cook with the sauce for an hour.Lastly I usec 3 lbs of ricota instead of 2 and also used no boil noodles....It came out unbelievable....OUTSTANDING
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
102 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 14, 2006
Absolutely wonderful! The best lasagna recipe I have ever come across. People are BEGGING me to make this again! I would recommend making it a day ahead and refrigerating for a day. I also do half ricotta cheese and half cottage cheese. Also adding 1 pound of Italian sausage seals the deal on this recipe! The spices set it and the taste is even more fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
40 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Rebecca Mason

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Panora, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2007
I've never made lasagna before, so I came to trusty allrecipes for help. I used mild ground sausage rather than pepperoni and combined it with the ground beef. Also, I used regular Ragu Flavored with Meat, added red wine, and let it simmer for about an hour before preparing the lasagna. My family loved it! I made Garlic Bread Fantastique (from this site) to go with it, and it was a spectacular meal. I think it's the best lasagna I've ever had!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2006
I made it for the first time today and the entire family loved it! I made a few changes which worked well for us. I first ground the beef,then once drained add all seasonings to the beef and let it cook well. Added the sause and set it on a low simmer for an hour so that the meat sauce had real flavour to it.I used two jars of sauce and tons of garlic and cajun seasonings to give it kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2005
Gotta love it!! I used Barilla no boil noddles and italian sausage in place of ground beef. Very hearty and tons of flavor! The pepperoni and sausage together give it a nice zing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dayton, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Really great recipe! I had never made lasagna before so I was a little intimidated but it came out great. I added a little more garlic and it wasn't overpowering. I did use 2 jars of sauce as suggested by other reviewers and it was perfect. This turned out fantastic. It was a bit of a mess b/c it ended up slighlty deeper than my pan but a cookie sheet lined with foil in the rack underneath saved my oven. Overall all the dirty pots and pans were worth the effort as it makes a ton of food and we had plenty of leftovers. Thanks for sharing this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2010
This was awesome!! It made alot so I had friends over to share it and everyone loved it! I accidently mixed the meat beef and pasta sauce the first time and the second time I did it according to the recipe and I liked it better mixed. I also used ground turkey and no one noticed! Great recipe! I make it atleast once a month now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2007
My mom always puts sliced hard boiled eggs in between the layers and it comes out fantastic and no one can figure out the secret ingredient. That would take your great recipe over the top. Try it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by karenl

Displaying results 1-10 (of 113) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Lasagna

See how to make a meaty lasagna in the slow cooker.

Deep Dish Lasagna

A crowd-pleasing lasagna with layers of cheese, sausage, spinach, and sauce.

Chef John’s Lasagna

Discover the two keys to a great lasagna.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States