Yummy Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Aug. 11, 2008
I never knew how easy these are to make. To heck with store-bought croutons! I'm hanging on to this recipe. I used sauerkraut rye bread from a recipe on this site, sprayed the cubes with olive oil, then sprinkled with garlic powder and garlic salt. I baked for 15 minutes and they came out perfectly golden and crunchy. I did leave out the basil since I didn't think it would go with my bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JUMAHA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fridley, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Maple Grove, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2008
Very flavorful. In place of basil I used Italian seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amydoll

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2008
I think this recipe has potential, but the basil was too strong for me. I substituted olive oil for the vegetable oil and baked it much longer than 5-10 minutes. I have another crouton recipe that bakes at 300 degrees for 45 minutes, which I think works better. Next time I would leave out the basil and try a different type of seasoning.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2008
Yummy....used rye and whole wheat bread. Sprayed the cubed bread with evoo spray and sprinkled the garlic powder, dried basil and added fresh cracked pepper. Delicious and crispy. Went great on our salads last night. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SLJ6

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2008
these were very good and very easy. We enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2007
Soo good and easy! I almost tried another crouton recipe but this one had one less step and is delicious. I added jalepeno powder that gave it an extra kick. Can't believe all these years I bought croutons, sounds silly to think how easy it is now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2007
Wow! I just made this and it was yummy! Can't wait to have it in my salad! I did use EVOO instead of vegetable oil and added 1/2 tspn of garlic salt. Nice flavor and nice crunchy texture (but not too crunchy because I only baked for 6 minutes). A definite keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Los Angeles, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
I really liked these croutons. I just wanted to say that after making many different versions of croutons in the past, one day I grabbed a pizza cutter and it worked so great to cut the bread in a more uniform fashion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Janine

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lake Lure, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2007
The best croutons EVER! I used 1/4 cup of olive oil for 1 lb of garlic french bread and used less garlic powder. These turned out more delicious than I expected and everyone loved them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by RALWATTAR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 10, 2007
I used olive oil and tossed everything together in a bowl with a dash of salt before transferring to the cookie sheet. Next time I'll experiment with the herbs. Quick little recipe with great results! I'll never buy store croutons again. Thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States