Yummy Garlic Croutons Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2011
I cut this recipe in half and used half of a italian baguette I bought the day before off the discount bread rack at my local store. This was very easy to make and added a little something to our dinner's salad. This is a nice base recipe to take and run with by adding whichever spices you'd like to your oil before brushing it onto the bread. This would also make a good base for homemade breadcrumbs.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Yummy!!! I used garlic salt instead of powder and mixed the bread cubes in a bowl with the oil and spices. Cooked at 350 degrees for 15 mins shaking halfway through. Made these for a Caesar Salad to go with Pasta De Sardine (also from this site).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by missdrea

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
Yummy is definitely the word to describe these! I'll NEVER ever go back to store bought again! I had a loaf of Italian bread that was going stale and this recipe was perfect for it. I used EVOO instead of veg. oil and tossed them instead of just drizzling the mixture over top. I baked them at 375 instead of 400 and watched them carefully so they didn't burn. I turned them during cooking. So good, I made a second batch and experimented with using a packet of Good Seasons Italian Salad dressing mix plus some minced garlic along with the olive oil. I think you can mix up just about any combination of herbs, spices, and add in some grated cheese and it'll turn out great! A perfect add-in to salads, soups, casseroles - whatever you can think of...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
68 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillian

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Allentown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2010
Used sour dough bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2010
delicious... I drizzled olive oil and salt when they were ready
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DAMARIS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Living In: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 24, 2010
These croutons were phenominal. The first time I followed the recipe exactly and they were good but needed something. The second time I had the same amount of garlic, half the basil and I added 1 Tbsp of dried parsely, 1/4 tsp ground black pepper, and 1/2 tsp paprika. I also used melted butter, which another viewer suggested, and it turned out great. These changes made it even better. I will definately make this again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Racine, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Burlington, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2010
This is a great basic recipe. I've made all kinds of croutons by mixing things up slightly - all turning out great. I've added a bit of Mrs. Dash's Garlic and Herb seasoning which was wonderful. Have also sliced my bread really thinly to make almost a chip type of crouton. To really make them good and fattening, I've added tiny pieces of bacon to my oil/herb/bread mixture. Tastes great on a salad! Thanks for the recipe! I've actually got some bread to use for croutons tonight!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2010
Used kaiser rolls and baked at 350 for 15 minutes. I have died and gone to crouton heaven. ♥
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2010
I had leftover traditional white bread that I made from AR & used that. It was simple & tasty but they were missing salt & I am not a salt person!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BusyMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Long Island, New York, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2010
Great!! These were so easy! I used olive oil and sweet basil. Because I drizzled, I probably ended up using a cup instead of a 1/2. Next time I'll mix it all in a large bowl first, then put on baking sheet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shannon

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kalispell, Montana, USA
Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 90) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Ham, Lamb, and More
Easter Ham, Lamb, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Homemade Croutons

Watch Chef John make simple homemade croutons for salads and soups.

Roasted Garlic Bread

See how to make quick-and-easy garlic bread with roasted garlic.

Garlic Aioli

Turn regular mayo into a versatile, zesty sauce for so many favorite foods.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States