Yummy Eggnog Pie Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2004
fantastic recipe - my boyfriend loved it. be sure and cook the pudding mixture until it is *very* thick (I cooked mine until it was so thick it almost wouldn't bubble anymore), and it will set up perfectly and keep for several days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 2, 2001
this was a huge hit and i have been asked twice for the recipe. the 2nd time i made this i used pumpkin pie spice instead of nutmeg and when i put in the rum i also added a teaspoon of vanilla extract. (the 1st time was a trial run and the 2nd for thanksgiving dinner ) i kept in fridge overnight and until it was time to serve and it got quite runny after a short time sitting on counter. the 2nd time i froze it overnight and transferred to the frige in the morning until time to serve. this was much better ! i really wanted something different and unique and this was excellent ! the only other thing i recommend is that you look up the meaning of fold in a cook book -that helped me the 2nd time. i have been asked to bring this for x-mas as well --- thanks rodney !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2006
Yummy is correct. I made this for a christmas pie. I followed the recipe exactly and it set perfectly. When cooking the pudding I cooked until it was very thick. I let it cool completly in the refrig. When it was time to beat/mix the cooled pudding it was to thick so I had to beat it with some of the whipped cream first. When it was beat then I folded in the rest of the whipped cream. It set nicely. Next time I think I will try it with a graham cracker crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SHEWETT

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Susanville, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2003
This sure was yummy! I had to make no-bake pies for Thanksgiving as our antique stove wasn't yet hooked up to the gas. Made a Chocolate Eggnog Pie once and wasn't impressed..but decided to try this one anyway. Ohmigod, it was out of this world!! Gotta be an eggnog lover for this one, it was fantastic! The only thing different I did was to beat the cream to stiffer peaks. Then I folded the cream in, and left it to chill overnight. You will not be dissapointed in the pie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: South Plainfield, New Jersey, USA
Living In: Milaca, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2007
Outstanding! My husband and kids love it. I cut the cream in half and added 2 tbl of rum and 1 tsp of vanilla. The consistency was perfect, like a banana cream pie. I could eat the whole thing myself! I plan to make this again for an upcoming family Christmas party.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TWARGA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2004
Nice, smooth flavor. But, it didn't set up at all, it's more like pudding than pie. I noticed a few other reviewers had the same problem...maybe I needed to cook the pudding a little longer. I rated it a 3 simply because we had to eat it with a spoon, rather than slice it. I will try using this recipe in a trifle because the flavor is delicious and light.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Fantastic! Made this for Christmas dinner for the first time. Made a day ahead for maximum chill time. Was a hit with everyone. Very rich and creamy - great with coffee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manchester, Georgia, USA
Living In: Warner Robins, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 14, 2005
This was a great recipe! I do recommend it frozen or defrosted VERY shortly before serving. If you're going to make more then one just make sure you have a big enough mixing bowl! I did cut out almost 1/3 of the cream, but then again I tripled the recipe! Anyway, maybe experiment before bringing one to the dinner party... =)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2010
This is for eggnog lovers only! We love eggnog, so naturally we loved this pie. It had such an intense egg nog flavor that I think next time I may substitute a bit of the eggnog for whole milk. Mine set up very well, just following the directions. Be sure to use cook and serve pudding and not instant and cook til it is very thick. I used Cool Whip instead of heavy cream and it turned out great. I had to beat the coolwhip and chilled pudding mixture together to get it the right consistency and no lumps. I used a graham cracker crust. A great pie for the holidays!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2005
I won 3rd place in the dessert contest at a Christmas Party last year. A couple of the judges came up to me and told me they never heard or tasted a eggnog pie. They loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 72) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Eggnog Thumbprints

Decadent cookies that taste like eggnog are perfect for the holidays.

Rich Chocolate Truffle Pie

Rich, quick, and delicious, this amazing chocolate pie has it all.

Peanut Butter Pie

Check out this no-bake, icebox pie!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States