Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I just eliminated the water. They will make thier own. Add 1/2 cup brown sugar, sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon,a dash of nutmeg and 2 teaspoons of vanilla flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
303 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2003
My mother-in-law wanted yams for Easter dinner, so I made this recipe. I didn't get syrupy and thick in the pan, I cooked it for about 45 mins. and the yams were done but there was no syrup - just water and seasonings. So - I put it in a corning ware dish and popped it in the oven with all the liquid. I let it cook at 400 degress for about 40 mins. and it turned out great!! Everyone loved it and said they hope I make it for Thanksgiving! I added a small amount of nutmeg, cinnamon and swirled some molasses on top while it was cooking! It was a true success !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
79 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JANETTYR

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: New York, New York, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2002
The flavor was alright, not the best I've had, and there was too much liquid. It wasn't a "syrup" as it never thickened. The yams were just floating in loads of liquid. I won't make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
74 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I cooked the potatoes on the stove first. Then I put them in the oven with the sugars and butter. I too used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar. That is the only thing that I changed about this recipe. It was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I cooked the potatoes on the stove first, then cooked them in the oven and added nutmeg and cinnamon to the syrup. These were a hit and just like mom used to make when I was a kid. Thanks Pamela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
These always come out great. I leave the pieces of sweet potato bigger than what I'd consider a "cube" because otherwise they disintegrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is momma’s recipe! If you want the candied yams to be more syrupy, decease the water to 1/4 cup, you really don’t need as much as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were outstanding. I must have used four really big yams, because it looked like there was hardly any water in the saucepan, so I added more and ended up with a lot of the syrupy stuff at the end, but thats was alright....I just added some more cubed yams and cooked them again. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar and mixed the yams at the end with a hand mixture for a smoother consistency. Maybe I am just partial to butter and sugar...but these were terrific and easy to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
The recipe was awesome. I cooked it on the stove until it was tender. Then I threw it in the oven with some marshmellows and let it bake for a few more minutes. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2001
Excellent dish! I added a little cinnamon and nutmeg.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States