Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2006
These were pretty good. I sliced the potatoes and at the end, I dumped a bit of the butter sauce out.. layered the potatoes in a casserole dish, sprinkled some mini marshmallows over the top.. and broiled until the marshmallows turned golden brown. That is what made them 5 stars for me! (and my kids ate them too!) Next time I will add a little less butter and sugar. Thanks for the recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2005
Made this for Christmas dinner & the family loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2005
Over the holidays I had a get together at my house. I made this dish for the kids as I know how hard it is to get them to eat vegtables. The problem was the adults couldn't keep out of it. I had to share the recipe with everyone.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2005
My family loved it.....thanks!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2005
This recipe was way too big for 8 people! I would use one sweet potato.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DEARSTARLA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2005
The recipe was awesome. I cooked it on the stove until it was tender. Then I threw it in the oven with some marshmellows and let it bake for a few more minutes. It was awesome.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2005
I cooked the potatoes on the stove first, then cooked them in the oven and added nutmeg and cinnamon to the syrup. These were a hit and just like mom used to make when I was a kid. Thanks Pamela!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2005
This turned out great! I followed some other reviewers' advice and added cinnamon and nutmeg. I also changed it to 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup brown sugar and put marshmallows on top at the end. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2005
These are so delicious; I will never used canned yams again...added a bit of cinnamon and nutmeg; also, left potatoes in bigger chunks as another reviewer recommended. A real winner. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2005
These always come out great. I leave the pieces of sweet potato bigger than what I'd consider a "cube" because otherwise they disintegrate.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chellebelle

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Olympia, Washington, USA

Displaying results 51-60 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States