Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2007
This is momma’s recipe! If you want the candied yams to be more syrupy, decease the water to 1/4 cup, you really don’t need as much as the recipe states.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2006
These were really sweet. So I decreased the amount of sugar by half. Otherwise, my husband enjoyed them.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lanham, Maryland, USA
Living In: Baltimore, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I cooked the potatoes on the stove first. Then I put them in the oven with the sugars and butter. I too used 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white sugar. That is the only thing that I changed about this recipe. It was a hit with my family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2006
This is a great base recipe but you will probably have to experiment with the size of the cubes to get them to the consistency you like. I like it better with half the butter and sugar and then mashed to a hot buttery sticky sweet pulp. Then I eat it in a bowl all by itself.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepeachpie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: El Cerrito, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2006
I halved everything and it tasted great. Wicked easy. Stirred it at the end and made it smooth, and it was perfect. thanks.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2006
I used canned sweet potatos to save on time. However , next time I will just make the syrup part on its own . Then add the canned potatos towards the end. I added everthing at once / potatos were too mushy . My fault.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 12, 2006
I modified this dish to make it a little healthier, I love the basic taste of sweet potatoes and a touch of sugar. I sprinkled as much sugar as needed to lightly dust the sweet potatoes in the pan and then only added a dab of butter. My potatoes were done in 20 minutes. Great snack on its own.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs Possum 08

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2006
:Very good I added pineapple ring was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Big E

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: South Lancaster, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Fairfield, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 11, 2006
i have never had yams before, and i don't know why. these were absolutely fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MarissaB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Eagle Pass, Texas, USA
Living In: Provo, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2006
These were outstanding. I must have used four really big yams, because it looked like there was hardly any water in the saucepan, so I added more and ended up with a lot of the syrupy stuff at the end, but thats was alright....I just added some more cubed yams and cooked them again. I also used half brown sugar and half white sugar and mixed the yams at the end with a hand mixture for a smoother consistency. Maybe I am just partial to butter and sugar...but these were terrific and easy to make. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States