Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These are great. I halved the sugar and added an equal amount of brown sugar. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg and cooked it with the butter and sugar on the stove top just to melt the butter. I then poured the mixure over the yams in a casserole dish and baked them at 400 for 40 minutes. I cut the yam pieces fairly big and they don't fall apart and have a great texure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the closest to my Mom's old fashioned candied yams that I have found. I doubled the amount of sweet potatoes, halved first crosswise, then cut in quarters. I added a cup of sugar because of the extra sweet potatoes, but no extra butter. I used my iron Dutch oven and lid. In 40 minutes the potatoes were tender, held their shape as desired, (not mushy). However the syrup was too thin, so I spooned the potatoes into a casserole dish, and cooked the syrup a little longer until thicker, then spooned it over the potatoes. Next time I'll omit the water altogether. If you want old fashioned real candied yams and not a sweet potato casserole, try this recipe, but omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rayne, Louisiana, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2008
i only use one cup of sugar and a tablespoon of fancy molasses. two cups of sugar made it way to sweet for us.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2008
I used 1 cup white sugar and 1 cup light brown sugar and added a few dashes of ground cinnamon and ground cloves and they were delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2008
similiar to grandmothers. very good
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CWUER

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2008
Sooooooooo yummy!! These were fabulous! I took others advise & only put in about 1/8 C water. I also did 1.5 C white sugar & 1.5 C brown sugar. The entire pan was gone within an hour!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orem, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 1, 2008
Hint,slice potatoes lengthwise, do not use any more than a tablespoon of water. The potatoes will make their own water; otherwise the potatoes will not thicken as they cook. For those of you who said you would never make this again try using less water. I also add a few drops of vanilla flavoring.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Shelby, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2007
My husband wanted sweet potatoes without the marshmallows and pecans, etc. A very plain kind of guy. This recipe was the best I've ever used and so easy. This will be the dish I use for every holiday meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LTISONE

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ligonier, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2007
I just eliminated the water. They will make thier own. Add 1/2 cup brown sugar, sprinkle with 1 teaspoon of cinnamon,a dash of nutmeg and 2 teaspoons of vanilla flavoring
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
302 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SOUTHPAWCOOK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, North Carolina, USA
Living In: Lompoc, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
Very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPOW

Displaying results 31-40 (of 75) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States