Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Sep. 3, 2009
add vanilla and cinnamon. once potatoes are done remove potatoes and allow liquid to simmer another 1/2 hour
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2009
Loved it!!! Me and sweet potatoe have never had a good relationship, but this recipe turned out great. I did reduce the water and placed it in the oven (with marshmallows) for a few minutes just to brown the marshmallows.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by thedevined1

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2009
The taste was okay, but don't add the water. The potatos have enough water in them already.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2009
Even though I cooked the yams separately before I put them in the oven with the butter and sugars, they were gasping for air and swimming in a pool of syrup when I checked them. Adding the vanilla and cinnamon gave them the taste of Cinnabon's, a smell that I avoid when I am at the mall. Much too sweet for human consumption. A noble effort, but I had to rate them 2 stars.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chimeyn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Gabriel, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2009
I changed it to 1/4 of water since it makes so much water, add a small amount of maple syrup, and 4 tablespoons of butter rather than a full cup. Sprinkled with cinnamon, these really taste great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2009
Good, added maple syrup and nutmeg. Only used one sweet potato and it was plenty for 2 people. Had to use a bit more water though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KissTheChefette

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tampa, Florida, USA
Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2008
These were great and so simple to make. I loved the part about not stirring it. That left my time free to prepare other dishes for our holiday meal. This was a wonderful side dish with our ham. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ~TxCin~ILove2Ck

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Tulsa, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Corpus Christi, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2008
The directions were great - my mother-in-law scoffed at me for cooking them on a stove and not in the oven, but everyone agreed that they turn out great. I followed the recipe that SOUTHPAWCOOK posted in their review (adding brown sugar, cinnamon and nutmeg) and they were very soupy, so I just strained out the yams with a spoon, put them in a corning ware cooking dish, put the mini marshmallows on top, and them put them in the oven until the marshmallows were golden brown. They turned out great that way!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2008
These are great. I halved the sugar and added an equal amount of brown sugar. I also added cinnamon and nutmeg and cooked it with the butter and sugar on the stove top just to melt the butter. I then poured the mixure over the yams in a casserole dish and baked them at 400 for 40 minutes. I cut the yam pieces fairly big and they don't fall apart and have a great texure.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2008
This is the closest to my Mom's old fashioned candied yams that I have found. I doubled the amount of sweet potatoes, halved first crosswise, then cut in quarters. I added a cup of sugar because of the extra sweet potatoes, but no extra butter. I used my iron Dutch oven and lid. In 40 minutes the potatoes were tender, held their shape as desired, (not mushy). However the syrup was too thin, so I spooned the potatoes into a casserole dish, and cooked the syrup a little longer until thicker, then spooned it over the potatoes. Next time I'll omit the water altogether. If you want old fashioned real candied yams and not a sweet potato casserole, try this recipe, but omit the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Crowville, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Rayne, Louisiana, USA

Displaying results 21-30 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States