Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
I wish I would have read all the other comments. Like everyone else, it was all liquid and no syrup. I threw in three marshmellows at the end, did not help. Next time, I'll try what the others did and leave out the water.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2012
Great, easy recipe! Even my husband who dislikes candied yams loved them! I will make this every Thanksgiving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2012
These were absolutely delicious. I did not add any water, I used only 1 cup sugar then added about 1/2 cup Splenda brown sugar. I also substituted Country Crock spread for butter. I also added cinnamon nutmeg and a little lemon extract. Soooo yummy! Kim
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2011
Voted the best dish on the plate last night! This is the first time that I made this dish and it was a hit! I read several reviews and reduced the water to a minimum...next time I will not add the water at all. I also placed the yams in a baking dish, added mini-marshmellows and baked it until the marshmellows were golden brown. EVERYONE raved about the yams!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ACURLAND

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2011
Loved them! They do live up to there name YUMMY and CANDIED. Keep the word Candied in mind. It is suppose to be sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mechanic Falls, Maine, USA
Living In: Hanceville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2010
Just great, first dish gone. Did use 1 cup of brown sugar & 1 cup white. Did not use any water. Microwaved the potatoes for 8 minutes first.\ then peeled and cubed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2010
These were quite delicious! I followed some of the other reviewers advice and only used enough water to coat the bottom of the pan, used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of brown sugar instead of 2 cups white, and added 2 teaspoons cinnamon and 1 teaspoon vanilla extract. After the 40 minutes on the stove, I took out all the potatoes and simmered the syrup for about 10 - 15 more minutes to thicken it. After that I poured the syrup onto the potatoes, covered them up, and brought them over for Thanksgiving! I thought they were good and the family gave positive reviews!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Plymouth, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
This was great...I was in a hurry so I parboiled the potatoes for about five minutes while I prepared the syrup mixture...I decreased the water, added a splash of orange juice and about 2t of cinnamon to the syrup and, while the syrup was a little watery (probably because mine only cooked for 15 minutes), the potatoes were delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lansing, Michigan, USA
Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
these yams turned out perfectly. I omitted the water. I peeled and sliced buttered my pot layered potatoes and did everything else w/out water YUMMM
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2010
Thank you so much for this recipe. I have never made candied yams or eaten candied yams not even from a can. But my hubby loves them and I was making them for him for the very first time the other night. This recipe was a great help. I did made some modifications. I didn't add any water, only the butter, I added the sugar, some vanilla, nutmeg and cinamon. It was great. My family and friends were literally asking for more, but I didn't have enough for so many repeats!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States