Yummy Candied Yams Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2015
Great mmmm
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2014
I made this for thanksgiving 2014. Family loved it. I did use brown sugar and vanilla like southpawcook suggested and it was great!!! Family ate it all!! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2014
Omg so good and super easy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2014
This was really good. I kind of estimated everything. I used what to me looked like 3 big yams and cooked them per recipe, with just a bit of change. As some of the other reviewers suggested, I added in a dash of cinnamon and nutmeg and a splash of vanilla, used half sugar and half brown sugar. I also used almost a cup of water, as the sweet potatoes looked big to me, and it worked out very well. I had syrupy sweet sauce on the bottom of the pan, not too watery and bland, and after I mashed the potatoes, it was like sweet potato casserole. If anything, it was too sweet, even after I cut out half the white sugar. Otherwise, it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Felicia Holdinunnbac Lamar
Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This was my first time making candied yams and they taste wonderful. I made half the batch. And added cinnamon and nutmeg with less water
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 9, 2013
These were a hit with my family this past thanksgiving. There wasn't any left. I like other reviewers use 1 cup of brown sugar and 1 cup of white. I also added a little orange juice as well. My hubby was a huge fan!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 29, 2013
Very good recipe. I did take the advice of others and use only 1/4 of water. There was still a lot of water at the end so maybe next time I won't use any. And I did add 1 tsp of cinnamon and it made the taste even better!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vlmills99

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 28, 2013
I don't like sweet potatoes, can't stand them actually. But I made this recipe for Thanksgiving, and OMG!! Everyone loved it. I actually ate a little of it. I guess I can't say I don't eat Sweet Potatoes anymore. LOL!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2013
First time I tried this recipe and I loved it. I used to boil my yams and then bake them in the oven with butter and sugar and now I have a way to do it right on the stove. The aroma is intoxicating. I substituted 1/2 c. orange juice for the water and used 1 c. of brown sugar as well as butter, cinnamon, nutmeg, and a light drizzle of maple syrup. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 18, 2013
Almost good as Granny's! Altered some: I used 1 cup of white sugar and 1 cup of dark brown sugar. Added 2 teaspoons of vanilla flavoring and a few sprinkles of cinammon.! Perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by queenie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Texarkana, Texas, USA
Living In: Irving, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 76) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Spring Asparagus
Spring Asparagus

The new crop of asparagus is finally here. Enjoy it in hundreds of different ways.

Homemade Waffles
Homemade Waffles

Waffles make Sunday mornings special, but they're great for lunch and dinner, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Candied Yams

See a quick and easy way to make sweet yam casserole.

Yummy Sweet Potato Casserole

This sweet potato casserole is sure to become a holiday favorite.

Yummy Yam Casserole

This casserole is creamy and crunchy, and not too sweet.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States