Yummy Bok Choy Salad Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2010
Loved it. The recipe definitely made a LOT of dressing but we will be able to use it on any salad over the next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2010
This salad (and dressing) were fantastic!! We really loved the bok choy! From now on, I'll be using this salad and dressing as an alternative to my regular green salads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SKEDDY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
I had some baby bok choy and green onions to use up, so I was happy to find this recipe, which looked like it would be tasty with a few changes. For starters, just looking at the ingredients, I could tell that this made WAY too much dressing. I cut all the dressing ingredients in half, and it was still pretty juicy, not inedible, but not perfect, either. I was also confused about the amount of green onions...I ended up using four decent sized onions and it was plenty. I also had three baby bok choys that were all very small, so I just put them all in. I was pleasantly surprised by the flavor of this salad...very tasty! It is a bit sweet, though...if I make it again, I'll cut back on the sugar a bit. Thanks for sharing the recipe...it's a really yummy, different, and healthy way to eat bok choy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
the dressing is good - just like Chinese chicken salad dressing! I think I prefer my Bok Choy cooked - I felt that the bitterness was overwhelming (especially when all the "green leafies" are solely bok choy). Might try half bok choy and half napa, cabbage or spinach or something.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2010
This was a hit with my whole family! I added mandarin orange sections for color but otherwise followed the receipe. I did use rice vinegar in place of the regular white vinegar for a more subtle taste. There was more dressing than we needed but it should keep well enough in the fridge.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Atlanta, Georgia, USA
Living In: Ormond Beach, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2010
Excellent way to use up all that garden bokchoy. I used the craisins as shown in the pic. I mixed the dressing up in a jelly jar and chopped the rest and threw that into a bag and took it camping. Gave the almonds and ramen noodles a quick toasting in some melted butter and tossed it all together. As someone said, you could double the bokchoy as the dressing is more than enough for a bigger salad. It was really delicious and held up very well on the camping trip. I will definitely make this over and over again. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by deedles

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 20, 2010
had this last night with dinner. It's delicious!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious! We added dried cranberries because it looked like they were in the picture, but they weren't in the recipe. This was SOOO good! We made it with a big family dinner and it got eaten up, but I also made it with just 2 of us. When I did that, I just kept the dressing separate and put the dressing on each individual portion just like having regular salad. Super yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
VERY yummy alternative to a traditional iceberg lettuce salad. My family even ate the salad leftovers! It has a nice crunch, and the bok choy, if fresh, didn't wilt for a couple of days.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 10, 2010
We also receive a good deal of bok choy or similar greens (tat soi this week) and have found limited favor from the kiddos in stir frying them with our other veggies. So this recipe was a great way to ENJOY every last bite of the strong-flavored green! We were serving to father who is diabetic, so used Splenda in place of sugar, and I would use less sweetener or sugar in the future, as we added naturally sweet cranberries and drained can of mandarin oranges. Skipped the almonds this time, due to son's nut allergy, but we would have liked having those in the salad, too! We had so much dressing left at the bottom of salad bowl, that we poured it into a jar to save for the next time we make it! Oh, and I just dressed a tiny sample of the greens for my youngest, who was hungry sooner than dinner was ready, and the bok choy/tat soi didn't wilt enough to make her dish of salad as palatable as the salad tossed with the dressing, I think.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken Breast Recipes
Chicken Breast Recipes

With our 2,700+ chicken breast recipes, you'll never serve the same old chicken again.

Zucchini On The Grill
Zucchini On The Grill

The firm, juicy texture of zucchini make them a perfect side to toss on the grill.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Bok Choy Steamed Rice

See how to make steamed rice with fresh boy choy.

Garlic Ginger Bok Choy

This super-quick sautéed vegetable is a great change of pace.

Spicy Bok Choy in Garlic Sauce

This quick and easy side dish has delicate Asian flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States