Yummy Blueberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2006
Everyone should know I made this recipe exactly as written. I should have known better when I was making this. I was worried about the berries not getting thick with nothing on the berries but lemon juice. And of course they didn't get thick. They were runny and not very attractive at all. The topping was odd also, after adding the water of course it made the batter topping smooth and again not very attractive. All in all, I won't be making this again. Highly dissapointed. What a waste of great wild blue berries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
221 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NICKI61

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wolcott, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2006
Excellent! I too made some changes. Each sugar amount was changed to 3/4 cup. Because of less sugar I reduced the amount of salt to 1/4 tsp.Since frozen berries were much more cost effective, I used those & reduced the boiling water to 1/2 cup. Delicious! One thing I will do different next time: I made this early in the day.It comes out with a slightly crisp topping. But when I reheated it for my guests it made the topping more cakelike. Still delicious, no one knew except me. I'd like to try it next time still warm & crunchy. personal preference Topped with vanila bean ice cream it was delish & plenty sweet.Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
135 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2006
WOW! This was both delicious and gorgeous! I used a round corningware dish instead of the suggested pan and the cobbler turned out great! Cut back on the sugar a little bit, added 1 tsp vanilla extract to the crust but other than that I followed the directions exactly! For those of you tempted to add more blueberries b/c you think that it doesn't look like there is enough in the pan.......don't add more or you will overflow when baking. The blueberries plump up huge when they cook in the hot water mixture. Now, I just need someone else to help me eat it! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
55 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NatalieDFS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dacula, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2006
This recipe is fantastic. My wife had some frozen blueberries that she needed to use up so she tried this. She read the reviews first and reduced the sugar to 3/4 cup (in both parts) as others had recommended. That was about two weeks ago. It was so good that we made it with raspberries when we went to a friends house for dinner last weekend and we made it with some fresh-picked blackberries this morning. Heated and served with some golden vanilla ice cream makes it just that much tastier. My wife noticed that it bakes up better with the fresh berries (as recommended). There was a bit too much juice with the frozen berries (perhaps reducing the water would help). I thought it was great either way. Definitely a great summer recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
45 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 26, 2007
This was so simple and a hit for dessert on Easter. I had some yummy fresh blueberries and it turned out great. I recommend a cookie sheet under the pan as mine boiled over a bit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
36 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 29, 2006
This definitely lives up to its name. I agree with the other reviews though, you can really cut down on the sugar that is called for. I use 3/4 cup on each part (1 1/2 total for the whole recipe) and it comes out great. And that is also using wild Alaska blueberries which are alot more tart that the kind you buy at the store. My mom has made this same recipe using rhubarb for many years.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2007
It's blueberry season and my husband brought home 15 pounds of the suckers!! I froze most of them but did make this great cobbler. I followed the advice of other reviewers and cut the sugar to a total of 1 cup. This cobbler was so good I think my husband is going to go back to the blueberry farm and get a further 5 pounds!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2007
as suggested by other reviews, i reduced the sugar to 1/2 cup in the batter and 1/2 cup in the cornstarch mixture, and this was a perfect cobbler! i may add a bit more cinnamon next time, but all in all fantastic... the crust was the perfect marriage of pie and cake, and the berries magically made an absolutely fabulous filling, in both flavor and texture. most definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 27, 2004
I took the advice of the other review and did half the sugar and I think you could cut back even more. But it was easy and tasted great so I will try this again. My husband loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2007
This is a fantastic recipe. Worked perfectly! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TCCBABY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perry, Florida, USA
Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States