Yummy Blueberry Cobbler Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 6, 2014
This was a lovely, simple, delicious recipe that I'll be making again. It was the perfect ratio of fruit to batter, as long as the fruit is spread out to one layer in the baking dish. I don't like to make major changes to a recipe the first time I make it but the reviews to reduce the sugar were so consistent that I reduced the amount of sugar in the recipe; 1/2 cup only in the batter and 3/4 cup in the topping. I wouldn't reduce it below a 1/2 cup in the batter or it would be too thin, but I would reduce the topping further to a 1/2 cup. I added a full teaspoon of cinnamon, as a couple of reviews indicated that adding more cinnamon made a very positive difference and I'm glad I did. I always think cinnamon and blueberries is a strange pairing, but it's also always a nice surprise. The last change I made was to add a couple teaspoons of cornstarch to the blueberry-lemon juice mixture, which made sure that it didn't turn out soggy as it had for a few members, and instead it made a lovely thick syrup. Because of past cobblers I've made, I sifted the flour and baking powder together. That helped the texture of the cobbler be "cobblery" but not cakey, lumpy, or heavy. I also used organic sugar rather than white sugar. I used lactose-free whole milk + a teaspoon of vanilla extract. I think that there was too much baking powder because I could taste it so next time I'll reduce by 1/2 tsp. Since I sift, b.powder isn't as much as issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jessica Salafia
Photo by delaney
Reviewed: May 13, 2014
I made this recipe last night…it was amazing…so so good. it was very easy as well however I wish I would have read the reviews beforehand because I would have added the vanilla extract and added a few less berries…I also cooked it for an hour and ate with vanilla bean ice cream…delicious! Give it a try =-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by delaney

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2014
I've made this twice and had it for company or taken it for a party. Both times everyone raved about it. I think it's relatively simple but absolutely delicious, especially served with vanilla ice cream!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2014
This was delicious! I was really unsure about pouring the boiling water over it, but I followed the recipe perfectly and I am glad I did. It really was fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
This is a good recipe. I believe the instructions are a little misleading on the batter topping that covers the blueberries. Do not over mix these ingredients. Cut chilled butter into sugar (I use two knives).Add flour and baking powder..continuing to cut in. Add milk and stir just to moisten. This makes a thick doughy batter. Continue with final topping. Bakes up just like a cobbler should. Delicious taste and texture!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DARLA11

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Louisville, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Shepherdsville, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2014
I made this summer 2012 and I just now reviewed it! My dad says this one is a keeper and he's picky about the fruits he will eat. I love when I make recipes and he says that; you know it's good then. Wouldn't change a thing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2013
Not so yummy. Very watery when the recipe is followed exactly. Ended up digging the blueberries out to munch on and throwing the rest away. I will try a different recipe next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2013
Have made it twice, once for Thanksgiving. Everyone loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2013
This is fabulous! The next best thing to blueberry pie.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Foodymom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Norwalk, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2013
This was way too sweet. I halved the sugar topping. Easy and quick to make tasty but nothing super special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Naomi

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Anchorage, Alaska, USA
Living In: Wasilla, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 170) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Very Best Blueberry Cobbler

A gooey blueberry cobbler with a light, cakey topping.

Best Ever Blueberry Cobbler

This cobbler is bursting with blueberry flavor, a great summer dessert.

Old Fashioned Peach Cobbler

Nutmeg and cinnamon flavor fresh peaches wrapped in flaky pastry.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States