Yummy Beef Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by reifsnider6
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2014
This was a huge hit with my family! Easy and delicious! I did mine in the slow cooker. I normally work nights and have four kids. On this particular day I worked a day shift which is from 11:30am-7/7:30pm. Knowing there was going to be homework and bed shortly after I got home, I knew BBQ'ing my sirloin steak was going to be out of the question. So I made the recipe according to the directions, except I had no bell pepper on hand and no time to run to the store for one, so I improvised a bit using a can of S&W Cuban Recipe Black Beans with onions, peppers (just a tiny hint of spicy) and cumin. And stewed tomatoes, cut up with kitchen scissors, with onion, celery and bell pepper. Sure this recipe called for a lot of onion anyway, but it was not overwhelming of one flavor. On my way home from work I picked up one bell pepper, chopped and sautéed it and threw it in the slow cooker, turned it on Hi and let it bubble for about 15mins. The rice I made in a rice steamer and I added three beef bouillon cubes and some Italian seasoning and let it cook. Served with mini crescent rolls. I DEF got kudos from the family on this meal!! Great, fabulous, FANTASTIC recipe! Thanks for sharing. You saved my butt and made my evening that much more relaxing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2014
Fantastic!!!! We both loved it so much the poor dog didn't get any!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Midland, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 28, 2013
This is a great recipe! Easy to make. I was amazed at how tender the meat was!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2012
A couple changes for this: Season the steak with salt and pepper, then sear it on HIGHEST heat before putting in the oven (this will GREATLY improve the texture). A pinch of Thyme does wonders and a sprinkle of grated Romano cheese over the top before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Rome, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
I made this tonight for my family. It was not a hit. We did not like the texture of the beef (though it was tender) and it was bland. I never leave negative feedback but I followed the recipe exactly and it just wasn't good, even with adding Italian seasoning as one reviewer suggested. Sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2007
This recipe is excellent. I normally do not change the recipes that I try, but I added 1 tsp. of cumin powder and 2 tbsp. of tomato paste with 1/4 cup of water for extra flavor. It tastes very similar to a Cuban dish called ropa vieja.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by puravida555

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Maiden, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2005
I thought this recipe was "okay"...after reading reviews, I kicked it up a little. I added mushrooms, some leftover cream of mushroom soup I had sitting in the fridge I needed to use anyway, an extra bay leaf, some garlic and seasoning salt. I halved the tomatoes (which I kinda wish I wouldn't have b/c there was not much "sauce" when served over egg noodles). All in all, it had good flavor, just not very exciting...I had some stew meat I needed to cook and was looking for something different, so it was GREAT in that sense ~ Thanks a bunch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SoccerMom

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2005
This was just ok...and I that was with a few modifications. I thickened the sauce, added celery salt and Montreal Steak spice, and added grated swiss cheese to the top. I am not quite sure what it would have tasted like without the additional ingredients -- but I would think it would be very bland. As it was, it was still not a home run. I'd give it 3.5 but the option isn't there. Not bad, but not great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JACKIEBLAKELY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Perth, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Wakaw, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 3, 2005
Yum! I've made it twice since printing this recipe. Definitely good with rice. My grandma made it too and she liked it as well - she said it is alot like the swiss steak she makes. My boyfriend liked it too and that's saying alot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Cushing, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 5, 2005
This was not at all "bland and boring", as was suggested by another reviewer. In fact, it was very good and easy to prepare. Additionally, you can further perk it up by adding almost any variety of canned tomato. Multiple flavors and varities are readily available at the store, so this recipe can be modified easily when you're up for a slight change of flavor. All in all, I thought it was very good and I'll certainly make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 24) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Slow Cooker Roast Beef

See how to make a tasty pot roast with just five ingredients.

How to Make Beef Wellington

Make the classic filet mignon and mushroom dish named after Duke Wellington.

Slow Cooker Beef Stroganoff

See how to put an easy spin on classic beef stroganoff.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States