Yummy Beef or Venison Stew Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2013
This was very easy to make. The only seasoning came from the bouillon cubes, so I tasted it about halfway through and added some salt and pepper. You could make this with beef or lamb as well. I used an electric kitchen kettle because my crock pot was not big enough for the amount of meat I had. Oh, and a trick I'd learned from my dad, was to soak the venison overnight in vinegar and water and rinse well the next day to make sure there's no gamey taste. I did that with this recipe so I'm not sure if it was that, or the recipe, but there was no gamey taste at all. Served it over rice. Husband thought this was a great dinner, so will definitely make again. I only gave 4 stars because of the lack of seasoning. Served it over rice and husband LOVED it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Florence, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Roxanne J.R.
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2009
I don't own a slow cooker but was looking for a beef stew recipe without a tomato base. I settled on this one because it looked quite easy. I followed this recipe as closely as I possibly could. After browning the beef mixture I tossed it into a pressure cooker for about 45 minutes with my carrots and the bouillon water. After that, I took some of the "stock" from the pressure cooker and mixed in the flour then I poured everything into a normal saucepan (on the stove), added the potatoes, celery, I put in a little garlic and a sprinkle of cayenne for some heat. It was delicious! Thanks for sharing your recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Roxanne J.R.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
The family loved this. I did not have time to prepare in the slow cooker, so I made it on the stove, added 3T vinegar to tenderize the meat. Turned out geat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2006
The last time I had venison, I didn't like it, my mother fried it. Last night I tried this receipe with sliced garlic, olive oil, lots of sliced mushrooms and green beans with potatoe, carrots and celery. I cooked it slowly in a large cast iron dutch oven, and the stew completely dis-appeared. We loved it. Can't wait to make another batch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2006
We don't eat red meat, so this was a pretty heavy dose for us, especially after we eat the leftovers tomorrow. But it was a good and easy stew, and my kids (3 and 4) liked the meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2005
This recipe is great, I added some mushrooms and peas.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2003
Great. No game taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2002
There was no gamey flavor at all from the venison. All five of my children actually ate this the night I made it and again for leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Venison Stew

See how to make a classic stew with venison, carrots, and potatoes.

Beef and Vegetable Stew

See how to make a hearty, low-fat beef stew.

Slow Cooker Beef Stew I

Make this five-star stew in your slow cooker!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States