Yummy Apple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2006
YUM. This recipe serves as a great base for variations...I didn't have the cherries, so I used raisins. Since I used that combo, I added spice: Fresh Nutmeg, Cinnamon and Cardamom Powder (All 3 mixed to a total of about 2 teaspoons.) My inlaws (from India) loved it! The cake itself baked a dream! No complaints here! I must try sometime as written (with cherries)!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
The cherries gave this cake reddish color on the inside which was quite unusual but great for holiday seasons, apples gave it moisture, while the nuts were the crispy little bits that improved cake's texture. I'm definitely making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2004
Guests for Thanksgiving 2004 loved this as a morning treat. They never stopped raving about it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MKUKIELA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This was a great recipe. Next time I'm going to add a few more apples and a carmel glaze on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Gigi, thank-you so much! This cake is wonderful! Moist, full of apple flavor, and pretty to boot with the specks of cherries. This will be the holiday gift from me to my neighbors this year. Delicious! gi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
mmmmm, that says it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2003
Love this-I brought this to a party and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This is fantastic. I made this once with apples and blue berries and once with bananas and cranberries. Delicious with a vanilla glaze over it. I also added a single serving of flavoured apple sauce. I just find it always makes cakes more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2004
This recipe is incredibly versatile. To give the outer edge of this cake a nice carmel flavor I use some brown sugar and reduce the white sugar accordingly. In addition, I use a single serve of strawberry applesauce in with the apples and a tad of cinnamon, nutmeg, and ginger to taste. I haven't tried using the maraschinos yet, but I will!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This cake was delicious! I had tons of apples and I was getting sick of making only apple pies, so I tried this one out. I did change a few things, though. I didn't use the cherries because I don't like them and I used crushed almonds instead of walnuts because we have a realative allergic to walnuts. And, at the end, while the cake was still hot, I poked holed in the top and poured hot caramel (from a jar) over it. All the hot caramel sunk into the cake. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States