Yummy Apple Pound Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 6, 2002
mmmmm, that says it all
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2005
This cake was delicious! I had tons of apples and I was getting sick of making only apple pies, so I tried this one out. I did change a few things, though. I didn't use the cherries because I don't like them and I used crushed almonds instead of walnuts because we have a realative allergic to walnuts. And, at the end, while the cake was still hot, I poked holed in the top and poured hot caramel (from a jar) over it. All the hot caramel sunk into the cake. To die for!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 31, 2003
This is fantastic. I made this once with apples and blue berries and once with bananas and cranberries. Delicious with a vanilla glaze over it. I also added a single serving of flavoured apple sauce. I just find it always makes cakes more moist.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2006
What went wrong. There is so much oil it soaked through a napkin and when I push on the cake is runs out. Has a very bland flavor and the apples are mush despite I cut them then kinda big.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by WENDYG25

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Montevideo, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Willmar, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2000
Gigi, thank-you so much! This cake is wonderful! Moist, full of apple flavor, and pretty to boot with the specks of cherries. This will be the holiday gift from me to my neighbors this year. Delicious! gi
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christina
Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Oooo, this was YUMMY! VERY moist and tender. I loved the slightly crisp, buttery outside and fruity, yummy, moist inside. I think I may add a banana or 2 next time, but it was great as is. I did add 1 teaspoon of vanilla instead of 1/2 teaspoon, but that was my only change. This was a simple delicious cake that I will be making again! Thanks for sharing. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christina

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2006
YUM! I used 1/2 oil and 1/2 applesauce. Very moist. I cut up and froze in zip lock bags, and when I eat I simply put them in a toaster oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2002
The cherries gave this cake reddish color on the inside which was quite unusual but great for holiday seasons, apples gave it moisture, while the nuts were the crispy little bits that improved cake's texture. I'm definitely making this cake again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2005
This was a great recipe. Next time I'm going to add a few more apples and a carmel glaze on top. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
Rather time-consuming but a good, moist cake. I only used 1 1/4 C sugar and it wasn't missed. Also, I didn't have quite 1 C of maraschino cherries, so I added some red candied cherries. It worked out very well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Cinnamon White Cake

See how to make a simple loaf cake layered with apples and cinnamon.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

GA Peach Pound Cake

Delectable and dense pound cake loaded with juicy and sweet peach chunks.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States