Yum Yum Squares Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by kelcampbell
Reviewed: Feb. 2, 2015
I made these butter tart squares for my family today and although the kids loved them - hubs and I thought they were a touch on the sweet side. I did alter the recipe slightly by adding about 1/2 tsp salt to the wet ingredients, along with 1 tsp vanilla extract. These squares were dead easy to make...took less than 10 minutes to whip them together, and the end result is very decadent. A note to those who complained of the bottom being dry and crumbly, I let my squares cool completely in the pan before cutting...this is the trick to ensuring the flaky, buttery bottom doesn't fall apart on you! The next time I make these, I will eliminate the brown sugar from the base, and reduce the sugar in the filling by 1/4 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
Excellent bar recipe when the weather gets cooler and something moist and gooey is needed with you favorite hot beverage. I didn't use the coconut, but used 1 cup of chopped pecans. It tastes like pecan pie cookies. My husband said, "You can make those again...anytime."
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2009
not bad. Really easy to cook... it was really a fun rescipe to make, especially with my little brothers. but, not bad. Not "Awesome" but, not bad.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2008
This was an interesting recipe. The crust was quite moist and the topping was decent. I wasn't expecting this to be as "bready" as it was, however, it was a nice surprise. I will definitely consider making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Brighton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 6, 2006
No stars if I could. I actually went back and re-read the recipe to make sure I didn't screw it up. These went straight into the garbage. Gross. Way too sweet, very mushy (and I cooked mine an extra 15-20 mins!) and the sugar never cooked! It was still crystalized and crunched in your teeth as you ate them!! We didn't even finish our servings. What a waste of lovely ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2005
These came out WAY too sweet and WAY too mushy. I was very disapointed and definitely will not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2005
This is a great recipe. It worked out really well, although for my taste I found that the top was just too crispy for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CAIROTAIVA

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Regina, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2004
I just made these and they are great! They remind me of pecan pie YUM. I took the advice of some and cut down the brown sugar but I think I will follow the recipe exact next time (we like rich desserts). I found the best way to do the crust was cut up the cold butter then mix it up with my hands. For those who say it was a gooey mess then I think they just didn't bake it long enough. They should come out of the pan just like a bar cookie. I will definately make these over the holidays.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2003
These were amazing! I made them for Christmas and they were a huge hit. Very gooey and delicious (but decadent)!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kingston, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2001
These did not turn out at all the bottom was dry and crumbly and the top was mushy I could not even get a whole one to come out of the pan I threw them all in the garbage needless to say I won't be trying these again
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Caramel Shortbread Squares

Can’t decide between cookies, caramel candies, or chocolates? They're all three!

Cream Cheese Squares

Flaky crescent dough layered with sweet cream cheese filling.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States