Yum Yum Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2014
This recipe is so close & I kept making it & tweaking the mayo etc then wasnt writing down the changes like replace water with rice wine, heating it, more butter, less garlic etc. I got it to taste exactly right.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ashley Dellinger

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Kennewick, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2014
Really good "close second" to high end sushi restaurants. Tad garlicky but otherwise exceptional.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ONEBLUEBALLOON
Home Town: Des Moines, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2014
Like other reviewers have said, make sure to (1) use rice wine vinegar for the water and (2) double the spices (but not the butter, mayo, or vinegar). I never made it as the recipe is written, but following those two tips was clutch. Gonna be dipping everything in this!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
This was OK. I didn't think it was anything really special.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Spokane, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 18, 2014
I thought this recipe was really close but missing one thing...I added about 1/2 tsp lemon juice and thought it made a huge improvement! So yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 17, 2014
I'm going to try this right now with a soy free mayo, Spectrum brand. I'll report back whether or not it worked well or not. I sure do miss hibachi!! :(
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sixpackjeanie

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2014
When I didn't have tomato paste, I substituted the same amount of ketchup and it worked just fine. My husband and brother love this and have to have it every time I cook chicken.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2014
What a terrific condiment for meats, veggies, truly YUM YUM! I halved the recipe and just eye-balled the ingredients. I did add a bit more tomato paste based on the reviews. Had some simple syrup in the fridge, so I just used a drizzle for the water and sugar. A definite do-over! Served a dollop on asian burgers, great meal. Thanks for sharing this recipe with AR. http://allrecipes.com/Recipe/Asian-Barbecue-Burgers/?prop31=1
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Saveur
Photo by TAURUSGIRL
Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2014
Yum-Yum! I have nothing to compare this to as I don't think I've ever had Yum Yum sauce, but I made a recipe that called for it as a condiment. I made it as directed (used Hellman's) and let it sit overnight. It was delicious with our meal, which was Asian Chicken Meatball Lettuce Wraps. Would make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TAURUSGIRL

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Midland, Texas, USA
Living In: Broken Arrow, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2014
This is GREAT!!! Used less sugar. Added a little more butter and soy sauce kinda played with it a little.. Ate it at room temperature didnt prefer it cold. SO GOOD. New edition to my dinner menu :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 63) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Teriyaki Sauce and Marinade

See how to make traditional Japanese teriyaki sauce from scratch.

Sweet and Sour Sauce I

A traditional sweet and sour sauce for meatballs, tempura, egg rolls, and more.

Chef John’s Butterless Béarnaise Sauce

See how to make a healthy, shortcut béarnaise sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States