Yum-Yum Corn Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2007
This makes a lot!! Luckily we found it could freeze and refrigerate well, and it was definitely delicious. The garlic powder set it apart from normal creamed corn...although I did add a dash of paprika for even more spice. This is a side dish that goes well with anything, and you'd never get tired of it. Thanks for the submission!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Montreal, Quebec, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2007
I made this exactly as the recipe suggests but without the sugar. It's so moreish! I made it as part of a huge meal and it was the first thing to run out. It is quite rich with all the butter but the flavour works and I'd say it's more a case of serving it with something relatively dry like a roast chicken breast so they can balance each other out. Well worth it, I'll be using this one a lot!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2007
I made this as a side dish tonight to sweet potato burritos and it went very well. I made a few minor changes though; I cut the recipe in half, but instead of using a bag of frozen corn, I added 2 cans of corn. The only other change I made was to add about 1/2 tsp of pureed jalepeno pepper. The end result was almost exacly like "Mexican Corn" also found on this site, the main difference is that the Mexican Corn recipe is done on the stovetop.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kelcampbell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Smiths Falls, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Kemptville, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 25, 2007
I can't believe I've had this in my recipe box for two years and only just now tried it! It's a wonderful way to prepare corn. I tried to cut some of the calories by using light cream cheese and using less than the recipe called for. I also cut the butter in half. I added a pinch of thyme along with the garlic to the corn, and used the parsley to sprinkle on top, along with some paprika. I left out the sugar entirely as I find corn quite sweet anyway. Turned out great!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DELTAQUEEN50

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2007
I rated this four stars because I did not prepare exactly as written. I cut the butter and cream cheese in half as other reviewers suggested. I'm glad I did because it is still extremely rich. I couldn't imagine it with twice as much cream cheese/butter. As I made it, it was excellent! My husband, however, absolutely hated it, and he is not a picky eater. He said it was too sweet, so if you don't like the sweetness you may want to consider omitting the sugar also.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Nora Springs, Iowa, USA
Living In: Mason City, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2007
Heart attack on a plate but worth every calorie!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 31, 2006
WOW all I can say is "yum-yum!" I used minced garlic and I got just a little too much but it was wonderful...I also substituted the parsley with garlic salt with parsley. Will use this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2006
Family really liked this; it got eaten all up at a family dinner. It was a bit rich for me, though -- might try cutting down the cream cheese next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 22, 2006
Very good and different. Next time I will use low fat cream cheese. It was great but boy did I feel the guilt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chef Boyar Ha Ha

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Gainesville, Georgia, USA
Living In: Fort Worth, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 21, 2006
I gave this a 3 because my husband liked it. I thought it was ok. I followed the recipe as listed and cut back a bit on the sugar. The cream cheese- butter mixture came out "bumpy" not creamy. Maybe it's because I used the whipped cream cheese. I'm not sure if I will make this again.....I'd probably opt for regular corn over this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Bethlehem, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Parkville, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John’s Creamy Corn Custard

See how to make an easy, rich, and creamy corn side dish.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Awesome and Easy Creamy Corn Casserole

This creamy casserole is like a cross between corn soufflé and corn pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States