Yule Log Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 24, 2011
This recipe is so easy, my 6 year old daughters helped me the whole time! It is also VERY tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2011
It turned out alright, but the filling was overly buttery. I'm thinking for round two, I'm going to blend in more sugar, and maybe some melted chocolate. Also the powdered chocolate tastes funny to me, so I'll probably play with it. Either way, good recipe base, but play with it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lake City, Colorado, USA
Living In: Converse, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2011
Love this recipe its so good. Great for the holidays
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TiNkEr BeLl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Williams Lake, British Columbia, Canada
Living In: Squamish, British Columbia, Canada
Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2011
This log did not come out right. I followed the recipe as written. It was very thin and not like any of the logs or rolls I have made before. Very dissappointed
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bobco85
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
The cake and filling were great, but the frosting was way too buttery. For the filling, it's definitely important to make sure the flour/milk mixture is as thick as possible before adding to the mixing bowl. I would also suggest rewriting and organizing the directions so they are easier to follow.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
As written, it mostly ends up tasting like butter.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
Too many eggs, not enough flour. Turned in to a chocolate flavered omlite.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nikki Streets

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Buckhannon, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2010
The directions were extremely vague and generally unhelpful. I followed them as well as possible and my cake came out extremely rubbery. It rolled with no problem, but the texture is awful. It also does not have a strong chocolate-y flavor. The filling was also a problem. First, it wasn't fluffy as it was described to be. Second, there was hardly enough for half the cake. I ended up scrapping it and making a chocolate mousse filling. Having no trust left in the recipe, I made my own icing. I definitely do not recommend this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 19, 2010
I am giving this a 3 star rating although I am going to try making it again to see if I raise the rating. The cake itself turned out fine. I rolled in a damp towel and let it cool...nothing cracked. The filling is where my problems began. I follwed the recommendation of another review and doubled the filling recipe so that I would be certain to have enough. The flour/milk mixture had thickened....but I do not think I let it cool down completely...so when I added it to the butter, omg, it looked lumpy and gruel-like and i thought Oh no! The same thing is happening to me. I said a quick prayer and got the idea of putting it in the freezer so that it could rethicken...then I beat it with a handmixer and it turned a lot more creamy. By the time I filled the cake....I had spent so much time that I did not have time to make the frosting. So, I used a can of chocolate store-bought frosting on it....and it was a "Save." Guests did comment that it was very good and not too sweet. I will post a new review after retrying it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BEACHSOSH

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
cake part was great, but filling turned out liquid! help!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States