Yucca Frita Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 30, 2013
I have a very picky roomy and even he liked these. In fact, everyone liked them. I started mixing up the seasonings after a while though and I really liked lemon pepper on them the best (although I only tried a few different ones).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sam Kamp

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 3, 2011
need to par-boil, dry, and remove stem/fiber before cutting into frys
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LatinaCook
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2010
As a puertorican, I've cooked yuca many times and in many different ways. This recipe works as is, IF you slice the yuca thin enough and skip the lime (it really doesn't "go"). I like to season it with garlic salt, OR drizzle with garlic infused olive oil OR serve with a side of Mayo-Ketchup to dip in (1:1 ratio of mayo and ketchup with some pressed garlic in it or garlic powder). Having said that, I do prefer to cut the yuca in larger slices (like 1 in thick 3 to 4 inches long) and boil the yuca first, drain well, then fry. It just seems to work better and you get more of the yummy flavor of the yuca and its wonderful texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LatinaCook

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jardines Del Caribe, Ponce, Puerto Rico
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2008
This was good but I did boil my Yucca before I fried it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MDASILVA11

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2008
Came out perfect!! I follwed a members advise and boiled the Yucca in water with crushed garlic first.Very tasty !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jennyp

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2008
I make fried Yucca all the time for my family. I would suggest some changes to this recipe. You need to first boil the yucca until tender. I have never timed how long it takes, 20-30 minutes depending on how thick the Yucca is. I always buy it frozen since it bruises easily and hard to buy fresh. Salt the water. Then fry until golden brown. I serve this with rice and beans or dip in Peruvian Green Aji sauce. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tamara Dextre

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Hutto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2007
This is pretty good but for a better taste you have to boil yucca (big chuncks) in water w/salt and 2 or 3 smash cloves of garlic. Once the yucca is cooked cut it and deep fry until light golden brown. It will be crunchy on the outside and soft & moist in the inside. Also this is perfect to make "Mofongo de Yuca"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
63 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bairoa, Caguas, Puerto Rico
Living In: Ceiba Norte, Juncos, Puerto Rico

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2007
The Upperwest side girls got together to do some new side for Thanksgiving. This one did not make the cut. It was lack in flavor and the lemon juices does not cut it. I recommend season the Yucca sticks before frying them. I would use garlic powder , onion powder, salt, and peeper, then deep fry. This should do the trick
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2007
It was good. Better deep fry, Forget the lime, had a dinner party tonight and did Yucca frita (yucca fries) and Yucca Cuban style. The Cuban style was gone in a blink of the eye. but not this, back to this recipe. Use Garlic salt not regular salt. This would be good with steak or hamburger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Crispy Onion Rings

Watch Chef John make the crispiest onion rings ever!

Truly Delicious Brussels Sprouts

See a simple technique for making tasty Brussels sprouts.

Fried Okra

See how to make crispy fried okra.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States