Yorkshire Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jan. 27, 2002
Very delicious. I tried to make this before & it was a disaster. Thank you for proper instructions.!! My only comment is to tell folks to heat the fat in the pan at 400 degrees for 15 min. before adding batter. Some may think it's sizzling after 5 min. & results won't be as good if fat not hot enough. Do Not open oven door while it is cooking. And also - I had to use a blender to get it light & frothy. Wisking by hand just didn't do it for me. End results - great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
137 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Truro, Nova Scotia, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2005
I just tried this recipe and it was fantastic.. I altered slightly, using 1/2 the H2o recommended, subbing 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c oil for the fat (I like to save the drippings for gravy) and using whole milk. It puffed out nicely with a crisp crust that is a pleasure to serve to company. The most important step to good Yorkies is to heat the fat first!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
99 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2003
My husband and I have been trying forever to find a good Yorkshire Pudding recipe. We have tried dozens of them and none of them would rise. So we tried different things like letting the batter rest for periods of time, including overnight. They would taste good, but there was not enough rising. We tried this recipe and the results were AMAZING! We have never been so excited about this! We had such success.. they turned out HUGE! I'm not sure what the trick was here, but we beat the batter for a long time to make sure it was really smooth, and even without letting it rest they turned out beautifully. Thank you so much for submitting this recipe Mort Tibble, you have made us VERY happy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
98 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2007
I didn't use a casserole dish, instead I used a muffin tin and tripled the recipe and it was great! The puddings were crispy on the outside and stayed "puffed" even after I took them out of the oven. I didn't use the beef drippings though. I prefer the flavor of melted butter instead. All 12 of my Christmas dinner quests raved! I'll make these again and again. UPDATE: I made these again tonight only I used a mini-muffin tin. I liked the texture and size even better than the regular muffin size. Next time I will try adding Parmesan cheese to the batter to see how it tastes. So many possibilities. Another Update: Don't add Parmesan cheese .... it's too heavy for the batter and they wont rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
66 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Beeaditude

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Albuquerque, New Mexico, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 16, 2007
This was fantastic. I was looking for a recipe that compared to my mother's (she was from Coventry)----and this was as good as it gets. Thank you so much for a pudding that is light and puffy. I had always thought you had to chill the batter before putting it in the hot drippings, but I've been proved wrong. I did them in indivdual pans the way my mother used to do them ( I used 6 small loaf pans), and baked them for 25 minutes. Each pan took about 2 Tbls. fat and a tad less than 1/2 cup batter. Thank you for a great recipe. I've copied many recipes, but this is my first review---because I absolutely needed to let everyone know how great this is. Good job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sequim, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2004
Excellent recipe. I can finally make yorkshire pudding. I didn't have much fat from the roast so I used appx. 1/4 c butter and 1/4 c olive oil instead. Turned out great. Thanks. Its a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2005
I come from Yorkshire and this recipe is exactly like my family have been cooking for generations, although we use Yorkshire pudding tins and cook each one individually, we have them every Sunday. They are esp nice with a sweet salad
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 18, 2001
This is absolutely the worst yorkshire pudding recipe i've ever encountered.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2003
I make a traditional prime rib each Christmas and this is the best Yorkshire Pudding recipe I have found. Letting it sit overnight is more important that people think. I have tried a lot and this is my favorite (and now only) recipe. Thanks for the submission.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arlington, Texas, USA
Living In: South Weber, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2013
I have been making Yorkies for the last 20 years on a weekly basis and have some tips for those people who say that their puds don't rise. First of all, I use yorkshire pudding pans I bought in England. If you don't have these use muffin pans. Second, I use 1 tablespoon of vegetable oil or vegetable shortening per slot. It has a higher smoking point than butter and olive oil. Thirdly, put your pan in the oven for at least 15 minutes before filling with batter. I take mine out of the oven and put the pan over a direct heat from the oven top and I also put the batter in a jug and pour them in while the pan is over direct heat. They will sizzle and set and THAT is the key. Put them back in the oven and set the timer for 25 mins. They will rise beautifully. I usually make the batter about an hour before I put them in the oven and have never had a problem. Do NOT use any leavening agent such as baking powder/soda. They just don't taste right. I also cut the salt to a half teaspoon and add a good grinding of freshly milled black pepper. I hope this helps those who are having trouble getting their puds to rise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Ipswich, Suffolk, England, U.K.
Living In: Norman, Oklahoma, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 107) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Grilled Burgers For the 4th
Grilled Burgers For the 4th

Check out our collection of almost 200 grilled burger recipes.

Potato Salad On the Side
Potato Salad On the Side

A cookout isn't complete without a big bowl of potato salad. We have hundreds for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Make Corn Pudding

Learn how to make corn pudding, a classic part of the American harvest menu.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States