Yorkshire Pudding II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2013
We had never had Yorkshire Pudding before, but I wanted something traditional to go with our Christmas prime rib. This came out wonderful and everyone loved it - no leftovers! I had beef au jus and people dipped their pudding into the juice. Someone had told me that the pan being hot when the batter is poured in is key - so I made sure of that. It was neat how it puffed up so much during baking, then fell. Even the guests who had ham instead of beef ate this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2013
I had never made these before when I tried this recipe and they turned out great! I don't use the drippings though. I put a half inch of oil in a muffin tin and heat it in the oven then pour the batter in and cook. They cook faster this way and are still really tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2012
I needed more batter because I wanted to prepare this in a 11x17 pan so I went with another reviewer's recipe (1.5 cups flour, 1.5 cups liquid, 1 tsp salt, 3 eggs). I ran out of milk so I used .5 cup of milk and 1 cup of water. The pudding came out chewy/bready with lots of crispy edges rather than eggy, delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 1, 2012
I didn't have enough drippings from my meat, so I used 1/2 butter and 1/2 coconut oil to make up the difference. Then I saw how much grease was in my skillet and dumped out 1/2 of it to be used in gravy. My whole family loved it! I pre-heated my cast iron skillet with the oil before I poured in the batter, and had to cut the bake time by 10 minuted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boise, Idaho, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 15, 2012
I see no mention of putting the drippings/oil in the oven to get them very hot before putting the batter in whichever tin you're using.. which should always be done. Also, I cook my roast to completion, remove & tent it with foil, heat my yorkshire tin, then carve the roast while pudding is baking so that I can serve everything right away when the pudding comes out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
I set the oven to broil to heat it up quickly, and accidentally forgot to reset it to 425. I AM DUMB. They actually turned out pretty good though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2011
A great addition to any roast dinner
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MISSSPARKLE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2010
First time I made this and I got rave reviews. I followed the recipe exact and was quite pleased with the result! Next time I would add even more flavors just to experiment with other meals. Thanks :>)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Michelle P
Home Town: East Otto, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2009
this game out great. I used the tips from other reviewers. I coated the glass dish with crisco lightly, then I put the dish in the oven for a few minutes while I beat the batter. then pour the batter into the heated dish. 450 for 10 minutes, then 350 for 25 minutes. Also the batter needs to be room temp. Make the batter an hour before you plan to cook it. I made the recipe 4 times in a row to perfect it because my family loves this. They kept eating them. the taste was the same but if the dish is not heated and the batter is not room temp or at least warmer than the refrig, then the pudding does not get all puffy. we like it puffy. if you use muffin tins it comes out crispy and may not be puffy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2009
I made these in muffin tins and they came out like popovers! Served them with preserves, yougurt, and granola....YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chocolate Moose

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 27) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

How to Make Yorkshire Pudding Popovers

Make these fluffy muffins, an English side dish that’s not a pudding at all.

Quick and Easy Yorkshire Pudding

See how to make roast beef’s perfect partner.

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States