Yogurt Whole Wheat Quick Bread Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2001
Extra cinnamon adds to the flavor. Less lemon juice makes it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2001
We think it's a delicious recipe. The taste is right for those who don't like too sweet muffins (and the others can add honey or jam in the middle before eating). I think cookig time is too long: in my oven 40 minutes max are enough, or they burn on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2003
Nice taste, easy, and great for those who don't like sweet bread. However, had I not added pecans, I don't think it would have been as enjoyable.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 27, 2008
The texture of this bread is very good and it's not too sweet. I ended up using vanilla yogurt instead of plain, added walnuts, and instead of cinnamon and nutmeg, I used lemon zest so that it would have an extra lemon-y flavor. Next time I think I will add more yogurt since the consistency of the batter was a bit thick (maybe I added too many dry ingredients) and I will definitely turn the heat down! I baked it at 370 for 36-37 minutes and the top got a bit burnt! Will set it at 350 next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 25, 2000
Pretty good taste, but it needs something extra, like nuts or more spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CLOUDSSUNRAIN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by pomplemousse
Reviewed: Jun. 21, 2009
This bread is a pretty basic quick bread, but the batter is dry, and with the 50 minute bake time it got a bit overdone. I made mini muffins, mini loaves, and a regular sized loaf. The mini muffins were done at 15 min, the mini loaves at 25, and apparently the regular loaf probably should've been 30-35 min, not 50. I used peach yogurt (all I had) and used 3 6 oz containers. I think I'd add one more egg next time to make the batter a little more runny and/or add some fruit. It's good, but there's no overall fruity, lemony, or specific flavors. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pomplemousse

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pendleton, Oregon, USA
Living In: Dumfries, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2007
This bread turned out great. It had good texture a pleasant flavor and was super moist. I topped mine with a good scattering of Uncle Sam Cereal before baking, that was a really nice topping to it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Mesa, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 2, 2006
This was pretty good. The texture was wonderful, but it was just rather bland, and I had added extra spices. It was way better after cooling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by LynnInHK
Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2004
I followed the recipe exactly and the bread browned nicely on top (see photo). But I didn't really like the pumpkin pie like taste so maybe next time I will skip the nutmeg and cinnamon and add lemon extract instead.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LynnInHK

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Centreville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Hong Kong, Hong Kong Island, Hong Kong

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2004
I've made this several times and it's always been a hit. I usually use fat-free lemon yogurt in place of the plain yogurt and lemon juice. However, I found that 50 minutes is WAY too long. I set my timer for 30 minutes and then start checking every couple minutes after that. Not too sweet, so it's great to serve with soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norwalk, Connecticut, USA
Living In: Reston, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Whole Wheat Banana Nut Bread

This rich, hearty loaf is great for breakfast or snacks.

Simple Whole Wheat Bread

Make this whole wheat bread, which is delicious and easy.

Whole Wheat Honey Bread

See how to make moist, homemade whole-wheat bread in your bread machine.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States