Yogurt Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Yum! Huge hit! I used fat free yogurt, 1 10-oz package of extremely well-thawed and well-drained frozen spinach that I ran the knife through just to make sure there weren't any big pieces, 1 tsp of Italian seasoning instead of opening 3 separate containers for oregano, basil and parsley, garlic powder instead of garlic salt and Old Bay instead of Lawry's seasoning salt (what I had on hand). Delicious and not too salty for us...because of the Old Bay??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is great, it pleased all of my New Year's Eve guests! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is tasty and nutritious. Can't beat that. I used low-fat yogurt and mayo. I accidentally changed the spice measurement from 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon and I'm glad I did. I added onion powder and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used one teaspoon of season salt to cut back on the salt and it was still pretty noticeable. I added a heaping 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper that really was great with it but it still could have used some water-chestnuts. I used about a cup of left-over steamed spinach and could have used more. Over all, very good stuff though. It's good to know that yogurt can be used in place of its less nutritious counterparts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 1, 2004
This was great and easy! I used Miracle Whip instead of mayo, and I will definitely use mayo next time. Using fresh spinach is the way to go with this recipe. If you're serving a large group, I'd double the recipe, it goes fast! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2006
This was allll the rage at my block party. My brother and his friends almost ate all of it before most of our guests arrived! I even used FAT FREE yogurt, and no one knew! I used more spinach for it too, as it seemed you can keep adding and adding. My boyfriend cut up some whole wheat pitas, brushed with olive oil and basil, and viola! Perfect combo. I like it better than any other spinach dip I had, and felt it was a healthier too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
We love this recipe. Always keep some in the fridge. It is great as a dip but also as a dressing in souvlaki pitas (instead of tzatziki) or on burgers. We use 1/2 cup of mayo instead of the full cup and add 1/2 cup of yogurt (total of 1 1/2 cups of yogurt). We prefer the consistency and the flavours stand out more with yogurt than mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2008
Best healthy dip ever!!! I really enjoy the fresh flavors and the nutritious component of this recipe. I used 3 cups of spinach instead, used nonfat plain yogurt, 1/2 cup of reduced fat mayonnaise and 1 tsp of dijon mustard, fresh basil along with the dried seasoning suggested. Taste fantastic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
So good on crackers and veggies. Wonderful alternative to sour cream recipes, and probably healthier!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 27, 2009
This is a good, healthy alternative to sour cream type spinach dip. It is a little more watery, but this is due to the less fat content. It isn't too watery though. I added artichokes and a little less mayo and it was very tasty :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2009
I have discovered "Greek style" yogurt...it is so thick and creamy and just delicious in anything calling for sour cream or plain yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: El Cajon, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States