Yogurt Spinach Dip Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2007
We love this recipe. Always keep some in the fridge. It is great as a dip but also as a dressing in souvlaki pitas (instead of tzatziki) or on burgers. We use 1/2 cup of mayo instead of the full cup and add 1/2 cup of yogurt (total of 1 1/2 cups of yogurt). We prefer the consistency and the flavours stand out more with yogurt than mayo.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 5, 2006
Yum! Huge hit! I used fat free yogurt, 1 10-oz package of extremely well-thawed and well-drained frozen spinach that I ran the knife through just to make sure there weren't any big pieces, 1 tsp of Italian seasoning instead of opening 3 separate containers for oregano, basil and parsley, garlic powder instead of garlic salt and Old Bay instead of Lawry's seasoning salt (what I had on hand). Delicious and not too salty for us...because of the Old Bay??
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Alexandria, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2007
This is tasty and nutritious. Can't beat that. I used low-fat yogurt and mayo. I accidentally changed the spice measurement from 1/4 to 1/2 teaspoon and I'm glad I did. I added onion powder and used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. I used one teaspoon of season salt to cut back on the salt and it was still pretty noticeable. I added a heaping 1/4 teaspoon of crushed red pepper that really was great with it but it still could have used some water-chestnuts. I used about a cup of left-over steamed spinach and could have used more. Over all, very good stuff though. It's good to know that yogurt can be used in place of its less nutritious counterparts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
47 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 22, 2002
So easy and delicious! This tastes creamy and bright without the bitter taste you get with the frozen spinach type dips. I used baby spinach leaves, and and used non-fat yogurt. It's just really really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by STACY
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2007
Super Bowl Sunday and I had a box of frozen spinach & took to the all recipes! Took everyones reviews into consideration on this recipe - cut way back on the mayo & added little sour cream - cut back on the seasoning salt & picked up differnce with the Old Bay, went with the fronzen spinach because had that on hand. Last went light on garlic powder in place of the garlic salt. Also added little ground pepper & a little grated Parmesan. With everyones helpful reviews - I think this creation is worth 5 stars! Will be a yummy hit at the big game!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2006
I don't usually like plain yogurt, but this was a good use for it! I omitted all of the salt because people said it was too salty, added (1/3 cup?) shredded parmesan cheese and diced onions, and used around 3 cups of fresh chopped spinach instead of 1. Served with Hawaiian bread for the sweet contrast! Will use again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 30, 2008
This was a great recipe. I made a double batch for a cookout and people loved it. I did do less mayo and more yogurt, but I also added artichoke hearts and chopped water chestnuts. Also instead of the herbs suggested, I added a pack of onion soup mix...Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amesbury, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2007
Good flavor, but DO NOT make this in a food processor. It becomes too watery. I'm not sure how I'll thicken this up... EDIT - added a small container of sour cream to thicken, and it definitely helped -- both with flavor and consistency. I hadn't realized before just how salty this was by the recipe. Much better now.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2007
The taste of mayonnaise was too strong.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2002
This is great, it pleased all of my New Year's Eve guests! 2 thumbs up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 36) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Spinach Dip Ever

Find out how to make creamy, delicious homemade spinach dip.

Hot Artichoke and Spinach Dip II

This hot dip is loaded with spinach, artichokes, and plenty of gooey cheese!

How to Make Spinach and Artichoke Dip

See how to make the ultimate cheesy party dip!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States