Yogurt-Marinated Salmon Fillets (Dahi Machhali Masaledar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I love Indian food and I love salmon, but this combination seemed kinda weird at first. However, it smelled fantastic while it was marinating. I only had one mid-sized fresh salmon steak (I was cooking for only myself) but left the marinade as is. I supposed if I was making the full recipe I would double or add more marinade. This fish was awesome! It wasn't spicy (I held back on the cayenne and I should of added more). I always eat my salmon with lemon, and this tasted amazing on its own. I will definitely be making this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I wish I could give this recipe six stars. I would seriously pay for this in a restaurant--it's that good. Great with fruited rice pilaf from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I love this recipe! It was so easy to make and so good to eat. The combination of spices really complimented the salmon. I've shared this recipe with lots of friends and even the kids asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 3, 2008
My husband and I really enjoyed this as it was such a different way to make salmon! The marinade really gets into the fish, and it makes a nice, spicy flavor. We served it with okra, onions and mushrooms that we sauteed with Indian spices, and then just had some raw veggies (tomatoes, cucumbers, and carrots) on the side. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Lynnfield, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2008
With the yogurt and cumin I had high hopes . . . just wasn't as flavorful as I would have guessed. Suprisingly, the marinade made it taste fishy
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PHILLYJH

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Red Oak, Iowa, USA
Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This turned out really hot, and I'm not usually a fan of very spicy foods, but in this case it was a fresh, short lived burn, which was cooled by the moist fish and yogurt. I'm trying to get more fish into our diet, and this is a great way to add variety to our menu because it really tastes different than typical fish recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
We loved this! My husband is an Indian chef. I made this for dinner one night and he really enjoyed it! (Which is saying a lot, since he's not a huge fan of fish). Even the kids ate it...but they're used to the spicy stuff. I can't imagine eating Salmon any other way after trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I had already stuck some salmon in a bag with some ginger and garlic with a little olive oil when I came across this recipe. I whipped it up and added it to the bag. The flavor of this fish was just wonderful. Not too strong, just even taste and goodness. I will definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2008
This recipe was so wonderful that I made it twice in two weeks! My two year old grandaughter couldn't get enough. I have made it with salmon and with trout. I substituted a ginger garlic paste for the ginger and garlic.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2008
Super recipe! I cut the garlic in half and think that helped to bring out some of the other flavors (also because we have HUGE garlic cloves here in Norway!)I also wrapped it in foil and grilled it. A real keeper!:-)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Candice

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Borden, Indiana, USA
Living In: Trondheim, Sor-Trondelag, Norway

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Leftover Central
Leftover Central

The hard work's over, now celebrate the leftovers.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States