Yogurt-Marinated Salmon Fillets (Dahi Machhali Masaledar) Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2007
I love Indian food and I love salmon, but this combination seemed kinda weird at first. However, it smelled fantastic while it was marinating. I only had one mid-sized fresh salmon steak (I was cooking for only myself) but left the marinade as is. I supposed if I was making the full recipe I would double or add more marinade. This fish was awesome! It wasn't spicy (I held back on the cayenne and I should of added more). I always eat my salmon with lemon, and this tasted amazing on its own. I will definitely be making this one on a regular basis.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by pinkypink

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Toronto, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
I wish I could give this recipe six stars. I would seriously pay for this in a restaurant--it's that good. Great with fruited rice pilaf from this site.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
26 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sussex, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Waunakee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2008
We loved this! My husband is an Indian chef. I made this for dinner one night and he really enjoyed it! (Which is saying a lot, since he's not a huge fan of fish). Even the kids ate it...but they're used to the spicy stuff. I can't imagine eating Salmon any other way after trying this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 6, 2008
I had already stuck some salmon in a bag with some ginger and garlic with a little olive oil when I came across this recipe. I whipped it up and added it to the bag. The flavor of this fish was just wonderful. Not too strong, just even taste and goodness. I will definately try it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This turned out really hot, and I'm not usually a fan of very spicy foods, but in this case it was a fresh, short lived burn, which was cooled by the moist fish and yogurt. I'm trying to get more fish into our diet, and this is a great way to add variety to our menu because it really tastes different than typical fish recipes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Sagamihara, Kanagawa, Japan

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2007
I love this recipe! It was so easy to make and so good to eat. The combination of spices really complimented the salmon. I've shared this recipe with lots of friends and even the kids asked for seconds.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2010
This was great for a change of pace. I usually use a soy sauce based marinade.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 25, 2010
I loved this dish! I was skeptical about the potential heat becasue of the cayenne pepper and made my 1, 4 and 6 year olds an alternative. It turned out to only be a slight kick, so the kids will definately be in on the dish next time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Christine M
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I love salmon, and usually prefer it plain and simple - no overpowering sauces or marinades, BUT....this was by far the best salmon I have ever tasted! Mine actually marinated nearly 24 hours - I was kicking myself all day thinking I should have prepared it in the morning instead of the night before, but the end result was PERFECT! Nice bite of spice, cilantro, garlic and ginger on the outside, perfectly moist, tender salmon on the inside. My only change was to use Greek yogurt (all I had) thinned down a bit with some water. Can't say enough about this one! I LOVE it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christine M

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hopedale, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Holden, Massachusetts, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2012
My family loved it! Followed recipe as written except I omitted salt altogether, left the excess marinade on our salmon and baked it at 400 for 20 minutes (roughly). It was fantastic. Just enough bite for my husband and almost 7 year old son. And me. We love Indian food and enjoy making it often. I served this over simple saffron rice (rice, water, and a bit of saffron in the rice cooker) and there are no leftovers. Thanks, we will be making this again. I also think the marinade would make a fantastic dip and plan to make some soon. Maybe with a bit of sour cream to thicken it up a bit...or use greek yogurt instead of the organic stonyfield my husband bought.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 43) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Balsamic-Glazed Salmon Fillets

Salmon fillets baked with a balsamic vinegar, Dijon, and white wine glaze.

Salmon with Brown Sugar Glaze

Oven broiled salmon fillets with sweet Dijon mustard sauce.

Broiled Herb-Crusted Salmon

Watch Chef John make a simple and delicious broiled herb-crusted salmon.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States