Yogurt Chocolate Chip Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2005
this is the best choc chip cookie ever!! besides famous amos of course. according to the previous reviews, i've made a few variations: 1/4 cup butter in total (no shortening needed), 2/3 total amt of sugars added (the choc chips are sufficient to make the cookies sweet!) and a few more drops of vanilla. the outcome? MmMMMmmm.... definitely 5 stars!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
75 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2003
I was looking for a choc chip cookie recipe with less butter than usual. I used butter in place of shortening and margarine (hey, it was still half of most other recipes!). These cookies look a little different - more puffy and they don't spread as much as chocolate chip cookies usually do, but they are a great texture with a wonderful, vanilla/buttery flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
54 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2007
My husband enjoyed these very much. Chocolate chip cookies are his favorite and his egg allergy makes finding good cookie recipes a challenge. This came out very similar to my regular eggless chocolate chip cookie recipe (basically the toll house recipe using egg replacers). They came out lighter in color and took a couple more minutes than the baking time in the recipe indicated. The only change I made was using non-fat vanilla yogurt because I didn't have plain. I only used 1 tsp of vanilla extract because of this. Out of the oven, they were delicious -- a little crisp on the surface and soft and chewy inside. They didn't flatten as they cooked and remined domed though they did spread a bit. I look forward to seeing how they taste in a few days (a problem I've had with my eggless cookie recipes is that they fail to stay moist after a couple days).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
44 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2007
These were astoundingly delicious, with crispy sides and chewy centres. I made a few changes - 1/3 cup white sugar + 1/3 cup brown sugar, 1/4 cup butter + 1 tbsp applesauce, 1 1/2 cups chocolate chips. I had to bake them for about 20minutes though. [edit] okay, so I shouldn't have overbaked them.. they became a little rubbery. Stick to the original time and you'll do just fine:) [/edit] Absolutely yummy.. THANKS! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Honolulu, Hawaii, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2004
This is a great recipe. My 3 year old nephew is allergic to almost everything, but eggless cookies was what I was on the hunt for. I did adjust it a little from reading the other reviews. I used butter instead of margarine and shortening and added an extra teaspoon of vanilla. They were really really good. I under cooked them a little bit so they were soft instead of crispy. My nephew devoured them and so did everyone else. It's so hard to find a good recipe that uses something else in place of eggs, but this was definatley it. Thank you.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Medford, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by dianamtu
Reviewed: May 3, 2006
these are the best "healthy" cookie i could find and they taste great too! This time around i subbed the shortening with better n peanut butter which worked amazingly. Also used 1/4 c less flour and 1/3 c quick oats to give it some texture. If you are baking with better n peanut butter grease the cookie sheet bc it sticks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by dianamtu

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Fremont, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2007
the smell of yogurt with choc chips is as if i'm in famous amos shop! its very light (since no eggs!)! i reduced the amount of sugar to a little less then half a cup! the choco chips provides alot of sweetness. i think everyone should experiment plain yogurt cookies with other toppings like almonds etc! it'll turn out hard outside but soft inside even after 20mins baking. good for people who dislike hard/tough cookies!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 18, 2006
It's not the easiest thing to find egg free recipes that work well - this one was an exception! I may never go back to my regular chocolate chip cookie recipe. This one fixed the problem with normal ones of flattening out and being to crunch. None of that with this recipe- nice, thick, soft, and delicious cookies! I altered the recipe slightly, decreased the following just slightly : margarine (I used 3/4 stick of margarine and no shortening), and sugar. I slightly increased the following: brown sugar, yogurt, vanilla, and flour. My cookies also needed a little extra time, but they were still soft and simply perfect. Perfect for anyone with egg alergies or desire for delicious healthy cookies! Warning: very addictive.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Arnold, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2006
This recipe was fantastic, thanks. I added vanilla yoghurt instead of just plain and it brought out the flavour instead of adding extra vanilla to enhance the flavour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2002
I'd take this cookie any day Its especially good with milk chocolate chips!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 180) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

No Cholesterol Chocolate Chip Cookies

These amazing cookies are good for the heart AND for the taste buds.

Cinnamon Chocolate Chip Cookies

See how to make chocolate chip cookies with some cinnamon snap.

Triple Chocolate Chip Cookies

Make chocolate chip cookies without an electric mixer.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States