Yogurt Chocolate Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I love this cake, I made then into cupcakes and they tasted great, I used low fat yoghurt and condensed milk and skimmed milk to keep it lower in fat and it tasted great - will be experimenting with different flavoured yoghurt next time. Thank you for this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2011
I made these and from suggestions of others, added a few tbsp of milk to the batter. I used plain greek 0% fat yoghurt. I also changed 1/2 cup of flour to 1/2 cup of cocoa powder because I was looking for a chocolate recipe - I made these into 16 cupcakes. I didn't have butter on hand which is mainly why I picked this recipe. The cupcakes only took 15 minutes to bake, and I am at altitude (Calgary AB) but they were tasty and moist. I haven't iced them yet, will be making them into some kind of halloween treat. Thanks for the recipe! Rating of 4 stars because I didn't make it as-written. The cupcakes were more dense than fluffy, which is fine with me because I want to dress them up and I don't want them to be too fragile.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 16, 2010
This is good and I did find it nice and moist. I think the people who complained that the cake was dry probably left it too long in the oven. I think it's the sort of cake that can go from moist to dry very quickly. I added a little more liquid than what the recipe called for (eg: just slightly over 1/2C of veg oil, slightly more than 1/2C of yoghurt) to prevent it from being dry. I would definitely make it again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2010
Maybe I'm just missing it but where does it say to add chocolate to the cake? My husband and I both thought this was dry and lacked flavor. Very tough too. Live in Denver and maybe the altitude had something to do with it but we were really diasappointed with this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2010
Really REALLY dry cake. The cake was NOT sweet either. To top it off, the icing was extremely bitter and I'm a HUGE dark chocolate fan. Will only try again with more sugar and milk in cake batter and semi sweet chocolate in the icing. What a disappointment.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
not really a chocolate cake, so I added some cocoa camino powder...Now its chocolate cake!!! great recipe...I almost always put yogurt in as a substitute wet ingredient....thanks for sharing...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2010
I must have goofed somewhere, although I think I followed the instructions closely. No flavor and bitter icing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by marvelousmike

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orlando, Florida, USA
Living In: Clermont, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Lesley Maria
Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
Very moist and tasty. I didn't have a 9" square pan so made it in two round 8" pans. Baked for 25 minutes and it turned out great. Sandwiched the two with chocolate spread. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lesley Maria

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Durham, Durham, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 24, 2010
It was wonderful! Moist and delicious! I will make it again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2009
Too dry even though I added 3 tablespoons milk to dough by accident. Cook less?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pinedale, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Watersmeet, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 14) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

One Bowl Chocolate Cake III

This quick-and-easy chocolate cake is so moist and rich.

Fabulous Fudge Chocolate Cake

See how to make moist, rich chocolate cake.

Dark Chocolate Cake I

This cake is rich and very addictive. You've been warned!

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States