Yogurt Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Not too fond of the results. Too sour for my taste, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 5, 2010
I added fruit preserves instead of the garlic. Oh golly is was so good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Laura Cartwright-Diekevers

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Grandville, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2010
I hadn't tried adding in the ingredients before straining and it is a nice way to get to the finished product. I use a flatfold birdseye cloth diaper to strain my homemade yogurt (obviously used exclusively for this purpose) and think it works way better than cheesecloth... and it's reusable. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 2, 2010
Add some dried onion and minced chipotle chile it turns awesome!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 4, 2009
This is easy to make. However, it is very tangy. Although we enjoy plain unsweetened yogurt with fruit regularly, we tried putting this yogurt cheese on bread and crackers and did not really like it much. I did not put garlic in it. I tried mixing some with some dill weed for crackers, did not care for it. Tried mixing it with a bit of honey and spreading on banana bread, also, did not care for it. It might make a good dip base with some major seasoning and something to balance out the nature sourness of yogurt, which seems to be accentuated with this recipe. I used homemade nonfat yogurt, which is a staple in our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 9, 2009
This is a wonderful recipe. The first time I made it after it was completely drained I added 1 tablespoon of honey and 1/4 tsp. of cinnamon. I used graham crackers for dipping....YUM!!! Next time I make it I will use savory spices instead of the sweet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MONICA397

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Marrero, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Bixby, Oklahoma, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 24, 2009
Did not like this at all, found the cheese did not have a good taste at all. Very odd flavor kind of sharp but not in a nice way. Then tried to change it up and added garlic and chives, still no better. Maybe it is just my taste buds but my Mom and hubby wouldn't eat it either. Sorry, I had great hopes for this and was truly disappionted.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Margaret Cordeiro

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Orillia, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2008
This cheese is delicious and so easy to make! I’m a huge cheese person, but am trying to eat healthier these days and this cheese helps me do just that. Thanks so much for posting it and like the others, I can’t wait to play with it a bit with different herbs and spices.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by OStreetGuy

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2008
Fabulous!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 17, 2008
I made it with raw milk and put chopped dried tomatoes - great on crackers. Next time will put some fresh herbs in it as well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NewsteadECS

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 32) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States