Yogurt Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by JOSEPHINE ♥ ALLRECIPES
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used homemade yogurt to make this recipe. It did take 3 days to mold/set but was well worth the time. I added the salt before molding using 2 ramekins. One cheese had honey and pistachios and the other had some pepper and garlic. The kidlets and I prefer the honey and pistachios. Next time I will make the honey/pistachio mixture and the other one salt, pepper, and fresh herbs (parsley, basil, and chives).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
THIS WAS FABULOUS! I USED HONEY GREEK YOGURT; ADDED CHIVES, GARLIC, SEA SALT AND A DASH OF CAYENNE. WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!-arnetage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Mine was inedible due to too much garlic, and I'm a garlic lover! I will make this again to try it with different spices, as I think it will make a nice spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We've been making yogurt cheese for years and found that the Donvier Yogurt stainer works great. It's a mesh strainer that fits into a container with a lid. So easy and you don't have to mess with cheesecloth. You can buy it on Amazon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I have made this cheese for years and I love it. I usually make it plain, then add whatever I want, usually finely chopped green onions, chives, garlic...whatever I happen to have a craving for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
if you add Cucumber and Dill you have a traditional Greek salad called tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe was so much fun to make. I took some viewers tips and squeezed the yoghurt for about 30 minutes to speed up the process. Next time, I will let sit in the fridge. The result is a nice, spreadable cheese with surprisingly strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was loved by all. Noone could guess it was yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2010
This is what is known traditionally as labneh cheese, originating (like yogurt) from the Mediterranean/Middle East regions. It's basically Greek yogurt drained a bit more. Plain yogurt is very tangy/sour on its own, largely in part due to the whey. A lot of folks that don't like regular yogurt like Greek yogurt because it's had a bigger portion of the whey drained off, making it more mellow. If you're getting a really tangy/sour bite to the cheese, odds are it's still got more whey in it. The first batch I made I used just a coffee filter in a colander over a bowl. It was no longer draining, but still very moist, and in the end very tangy/sour. The second batch I put paper towels under the filter and changed them out every few hours in hopes of siphoning off more whey. It was definitely better, but still pretty sour. So I've bit the bullet and bought some cheesecloth ($2 for 3'x3' @ Walmart) and will be hanging my next batch. I'm thinking the weight of the yogurt itself will help press more of the whey out. For some good tips on things to make with yogurt and on making labneh, I would recommend David and Jill Fankhauser's site on milk/yogurt/cheesemaking. For now I'm going to take my second batch and try mixing it up with some leftover BLT bacon and some herbs. Hoping to make a kind of sandwich spread from it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
I followed the recipe exactly as written. Not too fond of the results. Too sour for my taste, I suppose.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by chelmo

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Encinitas, California, USA
Living In: Carlsbad, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 31) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States