Yogurt Cheese Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2015
Don't throw away the whey (liquid leftovers) If you make your own mayo you can add about a tablespon of the whey to "ferment" the mayo. It won't change the flavor but it preserves the mayo naturally so that it will last for a month or more instead of just a few days to a week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2014
I make yogurt cheese all the time. I do it on my countertop for about 8 -10 hours, hanging from one of my kitchen cabinet handles. Much faster! The liquid that drains off is actually the Whey (as in curds & whey). It is full of nutrition and should be saved & used! That's where all the protein is. It can be put in smoothies, & used to lacto-ferment veggies (pickles, sauerkraut, etc). The possibilities are endless!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris' Mrs.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Josephine Roeper
Reviewed: Jul. 21, 2014
I used homemade yogurt to make this recipe. It did take 3 days to mold/set but was well worth the time. I added the salt before molding using 2 ramekins. One cheese had honey and pistachios and the other had some pepper and garlic. The kidlets and I prefer the honey and pistachios. Next time I will make the honey/pistachio mixture and the other one salt, pepper, and fresh herbs (parsley, basil, and chives).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2013
THIS WAS FABULOUS! I USED HONEY GREEK YOGURT; ADDED CHIVES, GARLIC, SEA SALT AND A DASH OF CAYENNE. WOULD RECOMMEND THIS TO ANYONE!-arnetage
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2012
Mine was inedible due to too much garlic, and I'm a garlic lover! I will make this again to try it with different spices, as I think it will make a nice spread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Anaheim, California, USA
Living In: El Paso, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
We've been making yogurt cheese for years and found that the Donvier Yogurt stainer works great. It's a mesh strainer that fits into a container with a lid. So easy and you don't have to mess with cheesecloth. You can buy it on Amazon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2012
I have made this cheese for years and I love it. I usually make it plain, then add whatever I want, usually finely chopped green onions, chives, garlic...whatever I happen to have a craving for!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 25, 2012
if you add Cucumber and Dill you have a traditional Greek salad called tzatziki.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Professional

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 30, 2012
This recipe was so much fun to make. I took some viewers tips and squeezed the yoghurt for about 30 minutes to speed up the process. Next time, I will let sit in the fridge. The result is a nice, spreadable cheese with surprisingly strong flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by HomeChef

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakdale, Minnesota, USA
Living In: Rochester, Minnesota, USA
Reviewed: May 17, 2011
This was loved by all. Noone could guess it was yogurt!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 33) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Crunchy Kale Snacks
Crunchy Kale Snacks

Kale is the healthy, green leaf that transforms into a crunchy snack chip in your oven.

So Many Pork Chop Recipes
So Many Pork Chop Recipes

You can't go wrong choosing from over 400 pork chop recipes with ratings and tips!

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yogurt Cheese

This creamy homemade cheese perks up bagels and sandwiches.

Southern Pimento Cheese

See how to make a creamy, slightly spicy pimento cheese spread.

How to Make Cream Cheese

Turn regular yogurt into simple, flavorful homemade cream cheese.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States