Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2010
I modified the recipe per Fit&HealthyMom's suggestion, but I ran into the sam problem as otisita. The cake was delicious, BUT it was way too dense. What did I do wrong?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2010
One of the best/easiest cake recipes ever! I used Coffee yogurt and vanilla extract. Added in mini chocolate chips to the flour mix - turned out fantastic!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2010
We followed others' ideas and used 1.5 cups of butter and sugar....grated lemon zest into plan yogurt, and baked for just 57 minutes. After allowing cake to cool for 10 minutes, we inverted it onto a glass plate then using a wooden skewer, poked holes all over the cake. We prepared a glaze of .5 cup powdered sugar, 2 T honey, juice of one lemon, 1 t lemon zest, and .5 t of cardomom - which we then poured over entire surface of cake. Allow to "set" for a few more minutes and enjoy with a hot cup of tea!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paul & Shari

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Newport, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2010
Yummy! According to suggestions I used 3/4 c butter, 1 c sugar, vanilla extract, and plain yogurt. I would love to try this with lemon extract some time but I didn't have any. I was looking for a bundt cake recipe that used yogurt and didn't use baking powder. Perfect cake recipe for ingredients I always have on hand. So easy too!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MI$$DREA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I've made this twice now. I used butter instead of margerine. And like another reviewer, I didn't have the lemon yogurt, so sub'd vanilla with some lemon zest. It is a wonderfully moist cake. The first time, I baked it for the full hour and thought it was a bit over-baked. The second time I baked it for 55 minutes, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love/HateCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Great cake. Easy to make and loved by all in the family. I cup the sugar to 1 cup and it made a wonderful cake that wasn't so sweet. I didn't have lemon so I used key lime yogurt. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wonderful cake! I also used 1.5 sticks butter, 1.5 cups brown sugar instead of white, and a full tablespoon of lemon extract plus lemon zest (we like lemony!) and then did vanilla yogurt since that's what I had on hand. Delicious, moist, flavorful. We did not do the glaze as we thought the cake was sweet enough, instead we drizzled a homemade raspberry sauce over our slices. Lovely summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
YUM!! This is a very moist cake! I didn't have the lemon yogurt, so I used vanilla. As others have said, I also only used 1 1/2 sticks of butter and 1 1/4 cups of sugar. We didn't have the lemon extract either, so I just used vanilla. It turned out to be more of a vanilla yogurt cake rather than lemon, but I used a lemon glaze on top and it was still delicious! For the lemon glaze I followed the "Lemon Glazed Cake" recipe on here, but cut the confectioner's sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
So easy to make, I followed other people's advice and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup. This cake is awesome, so moist and delicious, my whole family loves this cake. Great for lunchboxes too. I also use vanilla yogurt instead of lemon and it turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Fabulous. Tweaked with vanilla and lavender essences, tbsp vinegar and 1.5 cup of milk instead of yoghurt--turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruxelles-Louise, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States