Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Mar. 28, 2014
My family loved this cake. I used vegetable oil, vanilla yogurt and added 1/4 cup of poppy seeds. I also cut the sugar in half. Great with a cup of tea or coffee!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
I didn't have lemon yogurt so used French vanilla. I DID have lemons so zested 2 of them into the batter ... delicious, moist, definitely making again. Oh, I will NOT eat/use margarine so used real butter...minor changes with amazing results. I made 2 loaves instead of a whole bundt which was great b/c I froze one of the breads & will be enjoying the other with my daughter this week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 13, 2014
This is an absolutely easy recipe and the cake was GREAT!! Not a fan of lemon so I replaced the lemon ingredients with vanilla and used half of the recommended amount of sugar. Another must is replace butter for the margarine. You will taste the difference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ailyou
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2014
Really tasty! I made lots of substitutions but still ended up being fantastic! Ran out of vanilla so added vanilla soy milk instead... Also used plain green yogurt...only needed 1 cup sugar and 3/4 cup margarine/butter mix...and added chocolate chips! amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2013
I made a few alterations to suit my needs: I cut out 1/2c of sugar as others suggested, I made it into cupcakes, I used Greek yogurt because it's what I had on hand, and I replaced the lemon with vanilla. They turned out fabulous. 1/4 cup batter in each wrapper yielded cupcakes with beautiful golden domes just above the top of the wrapper, they cooked all the way through and had a perfect texture. I am serving them with a drizzle of Martha Stewart's Caramel Bourbon Vanilla sauce (http://www.marthastewart.com/338951/caramel-bourbon-vanilla-sauce?center=0&gallery=274972&slide=199286). I will certainly make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carrie

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Houston, Texas, USA
Living In: Grand Rapids, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2013
Used maple flavoring.....mmmmmmmm....good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2012
Love the simplicity of this cake recipe. I even had my 3 year old helping me. The cake turned out moist and smooth. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Oakland, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was a great tasting recipe, not sure what I did wrong but the cake broke when taking it out of the pan :-( because of that I'm not likely to bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is an excellent cake. I cut down on the margarine by about 1/4 c. and cut the sugar to 1.5c. I didn't have yoghurt but I had some Clotted Cream (A substitute recipe from this site) left over that I used in place of the yoghurt and added some sour cream to get the 8oz required. I was generous with the flour as well. I find that using a KitchenAid Stand Mixer to really beat the margarine/sugar till really creamy, and the same when adding the eggs, I can increase the flour or cut down the number of eggs. The point of all this is that this recipe is a very forgiving recipe. It's delicious, a pretty color, lovely texture, and light (lighter than a traditional pound cake in my opinion but nonetheless excellent). Rather than use a Bundt pan, I made it in two loaf pans so that I could put one in the freezer. In spite of the two pans, they each still took about 1.5 hours to bake. After an hour at 325, I raised the temp to 350 and next time I'll start it at 350. I'll be making this again. Great with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie Mama
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This cake was wonderful, quick and easy. Used vanilla yogurt, and vanilla extract, 3/4 cup butter, 1 cup sugar, 2 cups vanilla yogurt, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, and 2 TBSP's lemon juice. Remember proper mixing techniques, and don't incorporate too much air. Also, started in a cold oven 300 for 60 min. (my oven runs hot). Simple glaze of icing sugar, and lemon juice makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada

Displaying results 21-30 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

French Toast
French Toast

French toast is such a perfect breakfast, light lunch, or even supper on these warm days.

Crisp Cucumber Salads
Crisp Cucumber Salads

Try one of our 100-plus cool cucumber salads.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States