Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Photo by Anita Dayoff
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
4.5 stars. This is an easy and delicious cake. Beautiful thin crisp crust, soft and tender inside. Twelve servings will make less than ten cups of cake, so I didn't get the full design of my bundt pan. But I think loaves are the way to go, more of the yummy crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2010
My 4-year-old had a blast making this cake! Easy recipe to follow. We used vanilla extract and yogurt instead of lemon. I also reduced the sugar and used vegetable oil instead of butter and it still turned out great. This is a great recipe if you have yogurt in your fridge that needs to be used before it expires.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by mommastamm

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2009
I've made this great cake 7 times now. Four were perfect in texture (like a moist, VERY slightly chewy bread, good air holes but not what I'd call airy and light). With the others I'm obviously doing something wrong; the texture is smoother, denser, no holes, finer grain. Does this mean too much liquid, or overmixing, or what? I'm new.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2009
Use plain yogurt, vanilla extract, and butter instead of margarine. I also added a cup of blueberries. It was moist and delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Hanny Manny

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2009
A simple way to use up yogurt. Moist and very cakey. Used 1.5 cups of sugar instead of 2. Will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by xoxo_lina

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2009
I've made this cake a few times and it always turns out moist and delicious. I've also made it with vanilla extract and vanilla yogurt instead of lemon and my family loves it even more. Good, versatile recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pinky

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2009
Excellent, Excellent, Excellent is what I will say! Here are the changes I made: like others I used 1 1/2 cups sugar, 1 1/2 sticks butter, I did not have lemon yogurt so I used low-fat plain, I added the zest of 3 lemons into the batter. I also used a lemon glaze made of powdered sugar and fresh lemon juice. This is one of the best cakes that I have ever made. So moist, so delicious, truly amazing. Extremely quick and easy to make, mine baked in 55 minutes. Thanks for a GREAT yogurt cake, my 1st and it's a keeper :o)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
53 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GinnyLovesWhenIBake

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bronx, New York, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2009
Awesome! I used butter instead of margarine, 12 oz of vanilla yogurt and used vanilla extract instead of lemon extract and cut the sugar in half. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 13, 2009
I used 12oz of peach yogurt and only 1 stick of margarine. I also only used 1 cup of sugar and it was definitely still sweet enough. I used vanilla extract. The flavor was great but the cake was a bit heavy with a light flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Coco

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by hardrockgirl
Reviewed: Dec. 26, 2008
This was absolutely sinful! I used whole milk vanilla yogurt and real butter, and vanilla instead of lemon extract. Next time I will try with the lemon extract! Also made a powdered sugar glaze for the top of the cake. Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hardrockgirl

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Yorba Linda, California, USA
Living In: Mechanicsville, Virginia, USA

Displaying results 61-70 (of 100) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Back To School Already?
Back To School Already?

Hard to believe, but many kids will be back in school at the end of the month. Get ready.

Cauliflower Recipes
Cauliflower Recipes

You won't believe all the things you can do with cauliflower. It's a great low-carb option.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Cream Cheese Pound Cake III

A classic recipe for a cream cheese pound cake.

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States