Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2010
I've made this twice now. I used butter instead of margerine. And like another reviewer, I didn't have the lemon yogurt, so sub'd vanilla with some lemon zest. It is a wonderfully moist cake. The first time, I baked it for the full hour and thought it was a bit over-baked. The second time I baked it for 55 minutes, and it was perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Love/HateCooking

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Jul. 23, 2010
Great cake. Easy to make and loved by all in the family. I cup the sugar to 1 cup and it made a wonderful cake that wasn't so sweet. I didn't have lemon so I used key lime yogurt. Great flavor.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2010
Wonderful cake! I also used 1.5 sticks butter, 1.5 cups brown sugar instead of white, and a full tablespoon of lemon extract plus lemon zest (we like lemony!) and then did vanilla yogurt since that's what I had on hand. Delicious, moist, flavorful. We did not do the glaze as we thought the cake was sweet enough, instead we drizzled a homemade raspberry sauce over our slices. Lovely summertime dessert.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
YUM!! This is a very moist cake! I didn't have the lemon yogurt, so I used vanilla. As others have said, I also only used 1 1/2 sticks of butter and 1 1/4 cups of sugar. We didn't have the lemon extract either, so I just used vanilla. It turned out to be more of a vanilla yogurt cake rather than lemon, but I used a lemon glaze on top and it was still delicious! For the lemon glaze I followed the "Lemon Glazed Cake" recipe on here, but cut the confectioner's sugar to 1 cup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 3, 2010
So easy to make, I followed other people's advice and reduced the sugar by 1/2 cup. This cake is awesome, so moist and delicious, my whole family loves this cake. Great for lunchboxes too. I also use vanilla yogurt instead of lemon and it turns out perfect every time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 24, 2010
Fabulous. Tweaked with vanilla and lavender essences, tbsp vinegar and 1.5 cup of milk instead of yoghurt--turned out just perfect.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Bruxelles-Louise, Brussels, Belgium

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 16, 2010
Delicious! I cut down the sugar to one cup, used butter instead of margarine and cut that down to 1.5 sticks. Also, I used one tsp of Vanilla extract and one tsp of lemon. It was so moist and delicious! It got many compliments.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 13, 2010
Very good and so easy. Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Columbus, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 9, 2010
I used vanilla yogurt and it tasted yummy! I will definitely be making this one again and again and again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2010
Lately, I've been baking a lot of vegan cakes and they don't really stand up quite as good as cakes with eggs - so when I found this recipe I thought I'd try it because it contains yogurt and that is something I almost always have - I never have sour cream... I used regular vanilla yogurt, and vanilla extract - no lemon for me... and this cake was just the perfect consistency - it held up very well and it tasted so perfect and yummy - i will definitely add it to my permanent recipe book - and use it again and again... hey maybe next time i'll try it with strawberry yogurt and strawberry extract just to give it a little something extra ;)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SugarKitty

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Minden, Nevada, USA
Living In: Eindhoven, Noord-Brabant, Netherlands

Displaying results 31-40 (of 82) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries with a cinnamon-sugar and pecan filling make a 5-star coffee cake.

Pistachio Cake III

See how to make a moist, delicious pistachio cake.

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States