Yogurt Cake Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Photo by TheBritishBaker
Reviewed: Jul. 30, 2012
This was a great tasting recipe, not sure what I did wrong but the cake broke when taking it out of the pan :-( because of that I'm not likely to bake this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TheBritishBaker

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bakewell, Derbyshire, England, U.K.
Living In: Houston, Texas, USA
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This is an excellent cake. I cut down on the margarine by about 1/4 c. and cut the sugar to 1.5c. I didn't have yoghurt but I had some Clotted Cream (A substitute recipe from this site) left over that I used in place of the yoghurt and added some sour cream to get the 8oz required. I was generous with the flour as well. I find that using a KitchenAid Stand Mixer to really beat the margarine/sugar till really creamy, and the same when adding the eggs, I can increase the flour or cut down the number of eggs. The point of all this is that this recipe is a very forgiving recipe. It's delicious, a pretty color, lovely texture, and light (lighter than a traditional pound cake in my opinion but nonetheless excellent). Rather than use a Bundt pan, I made it in two loaf pans so that I could put one in the freezer. In spite of the two pans, they each still took about 1.5 hours to bake. After an hour at 325, I raised the temp to 350 and next time I'll start it at 350. I'll be making this again. Great with fresh strawberries.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by COOKINKIWI

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cookie Mama
Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2012
This cake was wonderful, quick and easy. Used vanilla yogurt, and vanilla extract, 3/4 cup butter, 1 cup sugar, 2 cups vanilla yogurt, 1 tsp. vanilla extract, and 2 TBSP's lemon juice. Remember proper mixing techniques, and don't incorporate too much air. Also, started in a cold oven 300 for 60 min. (my oven runs hot). Simple glaze of icing sugar, and lemon juice makes the cake.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookie Mama

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Kitchener, Ontario, Canada
Reviewed: Jun. 23, 2012
Very yummy yogurt cake. I used 1.5 sticks butter, 1.5 cups sugar and vanilla yogurt. I used zest from 2 lemons and approx 1 tbsp lemon juice. I poured batter into 2 loaf pans and baked for 50-55min at 325. To make it extra lemony, I made a glaze from 1 cup powdered sugar and 2 tbsp lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
This is a fantastic recipe. Very easy to follow and turned out great. I even froze half of the cake to save for later and after defrosting it still tasted great. I would have given it five stars except the cook time was off. Luckily I always check early when I'm baking because after 40 min. the cake was perfectly done. Perhaps it's because I live at sea level? Or my oven? Just beware when baking, you may not need the full 60min.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 25, 2012
So versatile and delicious! I've been swapping out the flavours and adding frozen berries. So far I've done peach yogurt with raspberries and blueberry yogurt with blueberries. My go-to coffe/pound cake from now on! About 1/2 to 3/4 cup of berries is good, thawed they won't add to the cooking time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Milton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 11, 2012
This is the third cake I have baked in my life. Used oil instead of butter. I set the oven al 165C as indicated but for some reason I had to bake this cake for 90 min. I used a silicone pan. Overall it was good. A bit too sweet. But i'm proud with the result.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 4, 2012
I used strawberry yogurt instead of lemon and it is my new favorite cake. Not overly sweet but just sweet enough. we didn't even use frosting
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 10, 2012
I made this recipe and followed it exactly, except for an extra tablespoon of lemon juice with the lemon extract (my daughter lovveess lemon pound cake). it was perfect just as the recipe says.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2011
Delicious and moist. I made it mostly as written, except that I had no lemon extract, so I subbed vanilla extract and the zest of one lemon. I glazed it with a simple lemon juice and powdered sugar glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 93) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chocolate Chip Cookies
Chocolate Chip Cookies

Have you made a batch lately? They're everybody's favorite.

Spring Salads
Spring Salads

Freshening up the salad menu for spring has never been so delicious.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Blueberry Sour Cream Coffee Cake

Blueberries, cinnamon-sugar, and pecans—wake up to a bite of the Big Yummy!

Adam’s Apple Cake

Meet Adam, a young baker, and see how to make his favorite recipe.

Dannon Blueberry Coffee Cake

Satisfy your sweet tooth with this nutritious idea.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States