Yogurt Almond Ice Cream Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 28, 2006
I made a few changes to this recipe and loved how it turned out. First of all i used low fat vanilla yogurt instead of plain and no oil. Then instead of making it in an ice cream maker i put it into a ziplock bag and stuk it in the freezer layed out flat. It froze very quickly and was delicious. We ate it all with no left overs! The almonds are a great touch. This would also be delicious with peaches or rasberries instead of the almonds. I will definatly make this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
65 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2005
Well, I tried it without the oil, and it turned out hard as a rock by the next day, so I'm making it again with the oil. Adding raspberries, drained crushed pineapple, and chopped bananas near the end of the cycle. Fun recipe to play with...and so yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 31, 2007
This frozen yogurt was so good. Instead of using vanilla soy milk I used half and half and added a dash of vanilla. I also added some almond extract, marachino cherry juice. Instead of serving the almonds on the side I made them sugared almonds and added them into the mixture along with some cherries. I loved it! I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
46 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Sep. 7, 2009
The taste is terrific! I froze the mixture in a bowl, and stirred it up occasionally. That might be why I ended up with a consistency more like sorbet than creamy smooth ice cream. We will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
10 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
i love this recipe. i no longer have to go out for good frozen yogurt. here's how i've changed it to my tastes. i use half and half instead of soy milk and vanilla yogurt instead of plain, then i just add 1 or 2 tb of honey and freeze in my ice cream machine. it does freeze pretty hard in the freezer but most ice cream recipes without eggs do that. I just take it out of the freezer about 15 minutes before serving to let it thaw a little. I have tried it with and without vanilla extract, its food both ways and i also used coconut extract once and tossed in some coconut then sprinkled toasted coconut on top with a drizzle of chocolate sauce for a sundae sooo good!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2012
I made this with organic whole milk yogurt and half and half, and added cocoa powder - about 2 or 3 tablespoons and a little grated dark chocolate. Yummmmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2008
A great alternative to using milk products. It froze rock hard though, so I'll have to see what I can do to help that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2008
I made this and used half and half because I didn't have soy milk. I don't have an ice cream maker, but it froze just fine in a gallon ziploc bag. I also put a little vanilla extract and almond extract in. I put toasted almonds on top prior to serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 21, 2010
Very light tasting. I think this would be great with fresh fruit added. I added a tsp of vanilla extract, skipped the oil, and used almond milk. It was really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
Yummy eaten right after it's churned, gets hard when stored. Switched fresh goats Milk for the soy, added tbsn Ginger, and had maple syrup on hand instead of honey. Yum. Skipped oil. It was goat yogurt too. Have also added fresh fruits with happy success.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 16) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

How to Make Vanilla Ice Cream

See how to make rich, luscious vanilla ice cream from scratch.

How to Make Ice Cream

See how easy it is to make America’s favorite frozen dessert.

Guinness Ice Cream

Stout beer-flavored ice cream with subtle smoky, chocolaty flavors.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States