Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 3, 2008
One of the best tzatziki sauce recipes I have found. A little too much cucumber for my taste, so I only use about 1/2 a cucumber. I also added salt & pepper, 2 tsp. lemon juice, and 1/2 tsp. dill. I couldn't find Greek yogurt, so I just used plain yogurt. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Baton Rouge, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Denham Springs, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2008
Yum! I just got finished making this and it is so yummy! I used plain yogurt because our store only sells Greek yogurt in the HUGE container!! I followed the advice of others and drained the yogurt in coffee filters to get rid of the liquid. I also seeded the cucumbers, and grated them into coffee filters to drain- worked great!! My sauce is nice and thick! I am serving with Soulvaki also from this site. Thanks for a great authentic recipe that tastes wonderful!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nicole

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2008
Wow! My kids love this with pita bread, but they love it so much, they practically lick it off the plate! Although it's better with the cucumbers, I usually leave them out. I add a little lemon juice, too. YUMMY!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Dorchester, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Lincoln, Nebraska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2008
Delicious! I ate it all up with Gyros Burgers! I changed the yogurt to fat free (just remember to drain it in a collander lined with a paper towel or cheese cloth so it's not too watery) and the sour cream to low fat. I also halved the recipe since it seemed like a lot and it was the perfect amount for eight sandwiches. I added salt and pepper to taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Joann Joseph Bedillion

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Waterville, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I almost, well maybe I actually did, lick the bowl. That's saying a lot for someone who doesn't like cucmbers! I only made enough for 5-7 people... definitely need to make more next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by House of Aqua
Reviewed: Aug. 13, 2008
This is my favorite tzatziki sauce. I found Greek Plain Yogurt at Trader Joes, it has a great thick consistancy. I sprinkle some dill on top when finished and I eat this with their pita bred or Naan Indian Bread also found at Trader Joes. So tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by House of Aqua

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dubuque, Iowa, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA
Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2008
Followed exactly as written (that almost never happens) DELICIOUS!!! Served it with a Gyroll from this site and it was perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Nebraska, USA
Living In: Las Cruces, New Mexico, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 13, 2008
Very bland. It needed something. I added some cumin and black pepper. I also added extra garlic. I didn't have dill, but I will try to add that next time. It just tasted like plain yogurt and sour cream. I was disappointed after the other glowing reviews. I cut the recipe in half and it still made a lot. I will try it again, but quartered and add a little extra spice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bake4fun

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 28, 2008
I made this to go with gyros and it was perfect. It had a wonderfull cool flavor. You could also use this as a veggie dip but if you do I would recommend adding some seasonings and so on (Greek seems the best choice). I'm so glad I chose this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Coppingford, Huntingdonshire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2008
Very good. I'm happy to have a recipe for tzatziki sauce. This was my first time making it, and it was easy. I used nonfat plain yogurt, lowfat sour cream - and I neglected to drain them first since I forgot to read the reviews first. It wasn't too runny though, so it wasn't a big deal. I did add a bit of grated onion, and I'm not sure I'd do that again. I halved it, and it still made a ton. I used it for falafel and pitas - and will definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Eugene, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 87) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States