Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Valarie Carrion
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2015
Oh my gosh, this is such a great recipe! It tastes just like the sauce from my favorite greek restaurant in my hometown! I'm so glad I found this because I've tried making it before with a different recipe and it was so terrible that I ended up throwing a whole batch away. The only changes I made to this was I added a splash of lemon juice, a hint of dill weed seasoning and I used garlic powder instead of garlic. The garlic powder was actually really good because I thought using fresh garlic would be a little too strong (plus my garlic went bad :c ) Awesome recipe, thanks so much yia yia!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Valarie Carrion

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2014
The result tasted like sour cream. This is the first tzatziki recipe I have seen that uses sour cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cacimbo Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2014
Make sure to get good cucumbers, my cucumbers were kinda tasteless but the sauce rocked
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lynsey Weber

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by moaa
Reviewed: Apr. 23, 2014
I'm not really into greek food that much but had to test some recipes before going to a greek event i had to attend. I have tried tzatziki sauce in the past and this one is probably the best ones ive tasted so far. It doesn't have mint , dill, and not straight greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by moaa

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Apr. 8, 2014
Just like I get in restaurants. Same spicy taste from the raw garlic as well, which is not my preference, but my husband loves it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2014
Turned out great! Chilling for at least 2 hours is essential! I let mine sit overnight turned out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Chicago, Illinois, USA
Living In: Mansfield, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2012
Perfect! I used this on a Chicken Souvlaki and we loved it! I had never grated a cucumber for the Tzatziki sauce - always just chopped it up. This way is much better and the blend of spices is just right!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Julie Fegler

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Boulder, Colorado, USA
Living In: Chesterfield, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Perfection as is. Could be called Yia Yia's Birth Control because it's better than sex!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 18, 2012
Excellent and authentic! I tried two other recipes on here for Tzatziki and this is by far my favourite with one exception - I added approx 1/4 cup freshly squeezed lemon juice (1/2 lemon). I gave the recipe five stars because it deserves five - I just happen to like my tsztsiki with lemon. My thanks to Auntie and Jess.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Pat Levin-Kell

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2012
I truly appreciate heritage recipes and try to prepare them as exact as possible so that I get the full effect. With this Tzatziki sauce, I did switch the amounts of yogurt vs. sour cream as I didn't have enough sour cream on hand and I like the yogurt "zing". I will say I liked the smoothness that the sour cream gave the final product. I prepared everything else exact to the recipe given. However, I was underwhelmed. It was very bland. I understand that it's authentic but - to my personal taste - it was bland. I added salt, that was a help. I then added dill as I love dill in my Tzatziki and that made a world of improvement however it was still lacking something. On the advice of my daughter, I added fresh lime juice. SUCCESS! It finally made my mouth sing! I understand this is a traditional and authentic recipe but sometimes traditional and authentic doesn't suit everyone's palate. This was one of those times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States