Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 8, 2008
Thank you for an awesome tzatziki recipe without dill or mint (I had none). I went through browsing a ton of tzatziki recipes on this site and finally stumbled on this one. I had to scale the recipe down as I was only making this for 3 people. I used a half a cucumber, grated it the put in a sheet of bounty towel paper and squeezed the water out, then repeated the step with another fresh towel paper. I also filtered 2% milk yogurt since I had no Greek yogurt, I used about 3/4 of a cup since it was gonna shrink when it lost moisture. I then combined the yogurt, cucumber, 3/4 cup of light sour cream, 2 cloves of garlic, and about 1 tbsp of evoo. Refrigerated for about 2 hrs. It was perfect with the "Greek potato stew" from this site and lemon pilaf and Greek salad. I will no longer buy store made tzatziki, this was so easy to make and better tasting. The key is in getting the moisture out of the cucumbers and yogurt (if your not using greek yogurt)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
76 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Couple of things: I've never seen Greek yogurt at any store so I just buy regular, and spoon it into a coffee filter. The moisture drains away in no time, and it's an excellent substitute for Greek yog. Secondly, English cucumbers are sometimes called Hothouse cucumbers. Hope that helps.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
70 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Caroline C

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Fort Lupton, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2007
Thanks for all the great reviews everyone! For those of you who are looking for a low-fat recipe - Whole Foods Market (or probably any other natural foods supermarket) carries a FAT FREE Greek Yogurt, so you still get the thickness, and the great taste! If you choose low fat sour cream over the regular, make sure to drain the water. And for those of you who aren't sure what English Cucumbers are, they are sometimes called something different in the Supermarket - but always come fully wrapped in plastic! Thanks again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
39 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JessNeo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Tyngsboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Charlestown, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I went to Greece over the summer, and I absolutely loved the tzatziki there. I couldn't wait to find an authentic recipe. This is it! I didn't add anything, and it was perfect- just like what I had in Greece. It really makes a lot, so when I am not entertaining, I will scale it back. Thanks for the great recipe! Spring for the English cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
I used fat free Greek yogurt and reduced fat sour cream and added a teaspoon of lemon juice and a little dried oregano (a teaspoon or so, I didn't measure). I didn't have english cucumbers--just regular cukes. We had this as a snack for Movie Night with homemade pita chips. Really good. We didn't miss the extra fat. The kids absolutely loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sarah Jo

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA
Living In: Belle Vernon, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Great, refreshing dip. I cut the recipe in half. What is missing is fresh dill and a bit of lemon. I used reduced fat dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by U142461

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jpidge
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Excellent recipe! I vacationed in Crete for 3 weeks in January 2007. So, I know what authentic tzatziki sauce is suppose to taste like. This recipe is definitely right up there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This recipe is just like my baba used to make- traditional greek sauce!! I added nothing and it didn't need anything because traditional greek sauce doesn't have anything else! The greek yogurt makes it! Thanks for sharing- its a keeper! Danni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 26, 2008
I almost, well maybe I actually did, lick the bowl. That's saying a lot for someone who doesn't like cucmbers! I only made enough for 5-7 people... definitely need to make more next time!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 26, 2010
Good, but this tasted too much like sour cream. I think this would have been fine using greek yogurt as the base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by heiditx1979

Cooking Level: Beginning

Living In: Houston, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 84) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States