Yia Yia's Tzatziki Sauce Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 19, 2007
Just right, like the sauce you get in a gyro shop. Putting this one in the recipe box.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 22, 2007
Great, refreshing dip. I cut the recipe in half. What is missing is fresh dill and a bit of lemon. I used reduced fat dairy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by U142461

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2007
This recipe is just like my baba used to make- traditional greek sauce!! I added nothing and it didn't need anything because traditional greek sauce doesn't have anything else! The greek yogurt makes it! Thanks for sharing- its a keeper! Danni
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Buffalo Grove, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 4, 2007
I went to Greece over the summer, and I absolutely loved the tzatziki there. I couldn't wait to find an authentic recipe. This is it! I didn't add anything, and it was perfect- just like what I had in Greece. It really makes a lot, so when I am not entertaining, I will scale it back. Thanks for the great recipe! Spring for the English cucumbers.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashley

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Owensboro, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Jacksonville, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jpidge
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2007
Excellent recipe! I vacationed in Crete for 3 weeks in January 2007. So, I know what authentic tzatziki sauce is suppose to taste like. This recipe is definitely right up there!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2007
Really, really, really good! I added just a little fresh chopped cphives for color. Served on top of grilled lamb patties. Delicious! I'll make it over and over!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Anchorage, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
Really good, but if you want to make it less fat and still good. Use fat free plain yogurt, and low fat sour cream. I also do not use olive oil. For lots of flavor add a tablespoon of greek seasoning, and some lemon juice.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by hothilary36

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Norman, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Denver, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2007
I loved this sauce, it is very authentic. The only thing I added was a tablespoon of dill per my taste. However, I am sure the recipe is just as good without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shezzza

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Brentwood, New York, USA
Living In: East Islip, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2007
Wonderful! I also added 1 tsp of dried Dill (Supermarket didn't have fresh).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Pensacola, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2007
This sauce was just ok and was a little thin. I couldn't find greek yogur or english cucumbers and it sounds like those make this recipe better. Was a little sweet for my taste so I added some dill weed which helped. Used it with the "Gyro Burger" recipe posted on this site and it did taste well on them, would have been better if a little thicker in my opinion.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Missy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Lee's Summit, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 86) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Chef John's Tzatziki Sauce

Discover Chef John's secret to making the creamiest, best-ever tzatziki sauce.

How to Make Tzatziki Sauce

Pair this creamy cucumber and yogurt sauce with grilled meats and veggies.

Tzatziki Sauce

This refreshing dip also works well as a dressing or sandwich sauce.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States