Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: May 14, 2015
Ad a bay leaf and it takes on a whole new new life! And more onion. Learned this from a restaurant and the taste is out of this world. And skip the milk!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Nancy Owens

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 25, 2014
I made this tonight. It was pretty tasty. I added onions that had been sauteed in a little olive oil. Plenty of garlic. Then after I drained it well & mashed it all up well it was just too watery. So I stuck it in a pan with crushed crackers on top 350 for 15 minutes. And it was pretty darn yummy that way. Helped to bake out alot of water. I will make this again and again, but I will for sure put it in the oven after I smash it all up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by nurses-r-angels

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 10, 2013
This was just okay, I added a bit too much pepper, which was my own fault, but this recipe just didn't do it for me anyway.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SarahStumphf

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Middletown, New York, USA
Living In: Clarksville, Tennessee, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
This is an old Southern recipe from my childhood in Savannah, Georgia. I make it the way I ate it then--the squash and the onions both thinly sliced in rounds (no mashing or mincing of anything). Ratio: 2/3 squash, 1/3 onion. I wouldn't change a single thing about the ingredients except to adjust the amounts "to taste." This is a perfect recipe in its simplicity. No need to make it more than what it is. Enjoy, ya'll.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Boulder Creek, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 12, 2012
I was looking for an easy recipe to make with some just picked yellow squash. I halved the recipe to make two servings. I used sweet onion, and just steamed the onions and yellow squash together. How else would the onions have cooked? I think that might be a misprint. I steamed them on medium high, in just a tad of water or about 1/4 cup, and kept an eye on it adding more water as needed. I salted it well while it was steaming. Boiled squash loses all of its flavor and becomes watery and mushy. To lighten it up further I used reduced fat milk and butter with canola oil, no problem. I just mashed it lightly, like the picture. I was thinking it was like a squash version of mashed potatoes, but it is actually like steamed squash in a light milky buttery sauce. I like trying new recipes, but I may make this again. It did not mask the sweet yummy flavor of fresh garden squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Apr. 9, 2012
Too bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 15, 2012
added 2 small peeled russet potatoes-it was more of a creamed squash but with a taste of mashed potatoes, I have to kind of trick my family to begin with, I also used spring onions and topped with the green chive portion-used red pepper for color-it was delicious (& went over well w/the kids) much more healthy & alot less calories than creamed potatoes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ifnotforgrace

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2011
This was easy and delicious as written! My alternate method was to steam the squash slices to preserve the flavor and to have less soggy squash. I sautéed onion slices in the butter before adding everything else.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Memphis, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Odd. Watery lightly-onion squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by brandieqh

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Kissimmee, Florida, USA
Living In: Davenport, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
my family has been making the for years, but boiling chopped onions with squash...and final step would be put in a casseroole dish, crumble saltine crackers over it and bake in oven til crackers are slightly golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by katamom

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 60) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb
Tart, Flavorful Rhubarb

Rhubarb adds its tangy flavor to everything from salsa to lemonade. Don't forget the pie.

Perfect Summer Smoothies
Perfect Summer Smoothies

Warm weather calls for a cold, fruity smoothie. Choose from over 400 refreshing recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States