Yellow Squash Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2003
This is great if you like yellow squash. I make it a little differently though. I grate the squash in my food processor (this way I don't have to mash it after it is cooked) and then put it and the onion in a casserole dish with the lid on and stick it in the microwave. I have a fresh vegetable button on my microwave so I just use that twice. After the second time, I take the squash out, drain it and add the rest of the ingredients. I only use 1/4 cup of milk though, or it is too liquid for my taste.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
77 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carly's Mommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Tallahassee, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 6, 2004
Nice easy recipe which is very good. A perfect way to use all that summer squash. My two kids loved every bite. I used just a touch of milk and addeds fresh garlic. Also I boiled the squash in chicken broth which give it a little bit more flavor. My family wants to make it again and again. Thanks
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 7, 2006
I steamed my squash and onions with 1/2 cup of chicken broth and used a little less milk. It was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waynesboro, Mississippi, USA
Living In: Columbia, South Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
This one gets a 5 and I'm not really fond of squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LMCLEOD08

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2007
This was great. I shredded the squash and steamed it. Then added to saucepan with 1/4 c milk and butter. Didn't have onions but would add it next time. Very simple but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DESNA

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Manassas, Virginia, USA
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 8, 2007
I made this without the onion and milk. And I had to use more salt than I thought I would. But, this is a really good way to enjoy the squash right out of my garden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
My husband hates almost any kind of vegie, but he loved this one. I never learned how to cook.. so thanks for listing some old fashioned basic recipes!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 29, 2008
This was surprisingly good. I steamed/boiled yellow squash slices and zucchini slices. I didn't drain much of the water. Added onion powder and black pepper. Added a small amount of shredded cheese and a small amount of milk. Mixed it up and served it as a side. The whole family thought it was very good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by GodivaGirl
Reviewed: Jul. 9, 2008
Quick to prepare and Good! Sliced 1/2" and boiled the larger slices 3 minutes, then added smaller pieces and continued boiling for 5 minutes. Mashed slightly. Watch squash closely after adding milk. Creamy and a nice subtle flavor. Hubby said it was the best squash recipe he'd ever eaten!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
64 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by GodivaGirl

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Youngstown, Ohio, USA
Living In: Virginia Beach, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2008
Excellent! I personally am not a huge squash fan, but I made this for my wife. We both loved it and are making it for a family dinner tonight.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 59) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Yellow Squash Casserole

See how to make a hearty squash casserole for a side or main.

How to Make Stuffed Summer Squash

See how to make summer squash stuffed with sausage and goat cheese.

How to Prep and Cook Winter Squash

Discover all the different ways to prep and cook winter squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States